The Moon Sister

A Novel

(Book #5 of The Seven Sisters)
LIST PRICE $14.99

About The Book

A USA TODAY BESTSELLER

From New York Times bestselling author Lucinda Riley, this sweeping and majestic tale transports you to the grandeur of the remote Scottish Highlands and Madrid torn apart by civil war as two women bound across time and distance search for the truth of their place in the world.

Tiggy D’Aplièse spends her days reveling in the raw beauty of the Scottish Highlands, where she works at a deer sanctuary. But when the sanctuary is forced to close, she must take a job as a wildlife consultant on the vast and isolated estate of the elusive and troubled Charlie Kinnaird. She has no idea that the move will not only irrevocably alter her future, but also bring her face-to-face with her past.

At the estate, she meets Chilly, an elderly Romani man who fled from Spain seventy years before. He tells her that not only does she possess a sixth sense passed down from her ancestors, but it was foretold long ago that he would be the one to send her back home.

Back in 1912, in the poor Romani community outside the city walls of Granada, Lucía Amaya-Albaycin is born. Her mother is devastated when Lucía is whisked away by her ambitious father at the tender age of ten to dance in the flamenco bars of Barcelona. And while Lucía perfects her passionate performances—eventually becoming the greatest flamenco dancer of her generation—tensions in Spain boil over into civil war, forcing Lucía and her troupe of dancers to flee for their lives. As they travel in search of a safe haven, Lucía’s long-held dream of going to New York may be in grasp. But to pursue it, she must choose between her love for her career and the man she adores.

Featuring Lucinda Riley’s “addictive storytelling with a moving, emotional heart” (Dinah Jefferies), The Moon Sister follows these two women on their journey to discover their true futures—but at the risk of potentially losing the men they had hoped to build futures with.

About The Author

Photograph (c) Roni Rekomaa/Lehtikuva

Lucinda Riley is the New York Times bestselling author of over twenty novels, including The Orchid House, The Girl on the Cliff, and the Seven Sisters series. Her books have sold twenty million copies in thirty-five languages globally. She was born in Ireland and divides her time between England and West Cork with her husband and four children. Visit her online at LucindaRiley.com.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Atria Books (February 19, 2019)
  • Length: 544 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781982110635

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

Praise for The Moon Sister:

"[A] beautifully written series... A magical adventure."

– Woman's World Magazine

"A breathtaking adventure brimming with cruelty, tragedy, passion, obsession and, most of all, the music, rhythm and spirit of Spain’s gitano community… There is a real fire to this exciting new chapter in the captivating Seven Sisters odyssey, an extraordinary sense of drawing inexorably nearer to solving the intriguing conundrum of Pa Salt’s death and the tantalising mystery of the missing sister.”

– Lancashire Evening Post

Riley's meticulous research and attention to detail immerse readers in historical background, bringing Tiggy and her Spanish birth family to life. Fans of Kristin Hannah, Kate Morton, and Riley's previous novels will adore this anticipated series continuation.” 

– Booklist

"A heartfelt, powerful, and spiritual saga. I don't know how she infuses her characters with so much humanity, passion, warmth and love, keeps the plot moving and brings the past alive so profoundly, but she does so beautifully. If you've ever wondered if writers are magicians, just read one of Lucinda Riley's novels and you'll have the answer."

– M.J. Rose, New York Times bestselling author

“In each of her series novels, Riley draws magnetic and strong women, polar opposites in personality but all of them fearless and determined. This entry will delight followers of Riley's series, but also appeal to new readers.” 

– Library Journal

"The tension, sweeping descriptions, and multiple subplots catch the reader early and don’t let go. Touches of magical realism and musical culture add to the gorgeous descriptions and historical details."

– Historical Novel Society

Praise for The Pearl Sister:

“Kitty's tangled history and its equally snarled connections to CeCe's origins unravel at a leisurely pace, with much lore about pearl fishing, aboriginal culture, and Australian race relations adding interest.”

– Kirkus Reviews

"Riley’s meticulous research and attention to detail immerse readers in historical background and bring CeCe and Kitty to life. Fans of Kristin Hannah, Kate Morton, and Riley’s previous novels will adore this."

– Booklist

“A unique dual timeline saga, rich with history and setting as well as emotion. This fourth book follows CeCe to discover her roots, as three of her sisters have done before her, but also to discover herself — and the journey is both heartwarming and heartbreaking. Riley has a distinct gift for setting, and as such the locales along CeCe’s travels come alive under her masterful pen. From the beaches of Thailand to the Australian outback to a London flat, the landscapes are vividly drawn and lushly atmospheric. The dual timeline aspect is seamlessly integrated with the story and will keep readers glued to the page, waiting to see how it all connects.” 

– RT Book Reviews

“Brilliantly written. Reading like a stand-alone, it’s full of evocative details about cities, the countryside, flora, and fauna, which makes the scenes come alive. Separated by nearly a century, the characters’ storylines and dialogue are captivating and hold our interest...Highly recommended."

– Historical Novel Society

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Lucinda Riley

More books in this series: The Seven Sisters