Skip to Main Content

The Lurking Lima Bean

Book #2 of Night Frights
Illustrated by Teo Skaffa

In this second installment in the spooky and silly series that’s perfect for fans of Goosebumps and Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark, a girl’s dinner comes back to haunt her!

Wolver Hollow is not a normal town. The adults are too busy shuffling off to work at the old coffin factory to notice or care, but the kids know all about monsters, ghosts, and strange lights in the sky. Strange things happen in Wolver Hollow. Creepy things.

Madeline Harper does not like lima beans and she’s not afraid to make that clear. But when she gets sent to bed for not eating her vegetables, she’ll find something far worse than her mother’s frustration. A lima bean scorned is a terrible thing and it will not stop until Madeline Harper eats her vegetables!

Joe McGee is the author of the picture books Peanut Butter & BrainsPeanut Butter & Aliens, and Peanut Butter & Santa Claus. Joe is on the faculty of Sierra Nevada College’s Writing for Children and Young Adults low-residency MFA program and teaches English at Eastern West Virginia Community and Technical College. He is a graduate of the Vermont College of Fine Arts MFA program in writing for children and young adults as well as the Rowan University Master of Arts in Writing program. He lives in the mountains of West Virginia with his wife (also a children’s author) and their puppy, Pepper. You can find him online at JoeMcGeeAuthor.com and on Twitter @McGeeJP.

Teo Skaffa currently lives in Istanbul but is from a village in Netherlands which you’ve probably never heard of, and for good reason. He loves music, video games, cinema, and swimming. He hates drawing in accurate perspective and room temperature watermelon (cold is fine though, delicious even). Coming from a traditional background, he now focuses on digital illustration and storytelling. Most of his inspiration comes from that short moment when you wake up and don’t quite understand what is happening yet, where he sees brief flashes of images and ideas which he turns into colorful illustrations.

More books from this author: Joe McGee