Skip to Main Content

Listen To An Excerpt

0:00 /

About The Book

The secrets and lies that exist within a seemingly perfect marriage are explored in this “second-chance tale of romantic suspense” (Booklist) from the nationally bestselling and award-winning author of The Stolen Daughter.

Meet Shannon and Jay Lovejoy—the rich and successful power couple who, to the millions of fans of their call-in radio show, seem like they’ve got it all. But after three years, their once passionate and loving romance has fizzled and the couple’s divorce becomes embroiled in not only a mess of infidelity and deceit, but the untimely and shocking death of Jay’s mistress, as well.

This “taut, expressive page-turner” (Publishers Weekly, starred review) boldly goes where ReShonda Tate Billingsley has never gone before with her fiction, delivering the perfect combination of romance and suspense in one thrilling novel.

About The Author

Photograph by Rochelle Scott

ReShonda Tate Billingsley’s #1 nationally bestselling novels include Let the Church Say AmenI Know I’ve Been Changed, and Say Amen, Again, winner of the NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Literary Work. Her collaboration with Victoria Christopher Murray has produced four hit novels, Sinners & SaintsFriends & FoesA Blessing & a Curse, and Fortune & Fame. BET released a movie in 2013 based on ReShonda’s book Let the Church Say Amen in which she had a minor roleShe also had a role in the made-for-TV movie The Secret She Kept based on her book of the same title. Visit, meet the author on Facebook at ReShondaTateBillingsley, or follow her on Twitter @ReShondaT.

About The Reader

Product Details

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio (September 29, 2020)
  • Length: 288 pages
  • Runtime: 6 hours and 33 minutes
  • ISBN13: 9781508282969

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

"Janina Edwards narrates a fast-paced contemporary story of cheating and lies. Infidelity between relationship experts Shannon and Jay Lovejoy leads to suspense when Jay's mistress is murdered. While on the lam and trying to clear their names, the couple discuss what went wrong in their marriage and whether it is salvageable. The audiobook opens and closes with a smooth jazz instrumental reminiscent of 1960s suspense cinema. Edwards's performance keeps the story moving through the emotional turmoil as the couple work through emotional pain, suspicion, and cautious hope."

– AudioFile Magazine

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: ReShonda Tate Billingsley

More books from this reader: Janina Edwards