Skip to Main Content


Magic Lessons

Book #1 of the Practical Magic Series

In this novel that traces a centuries-old curse to its source, beloved author Alice Hoffman unveils the story of Maria Owens, accused of witchcraft in Salem, and matriarch of a line of the amazing Owens women and men featured in Practical Magic and The Rules of Magic.

Where does the story of the Owens bloodline begin? With Maria Owens, in the 1600s, when she’s abandoned in a snowy field in rural England as a baby. Under the care of Hannah Owens, Maria learns about the “Nameless Arts.” Hannah recognizes that Maria has a gift and she teaches the girl all she knows. It is here that she learns her first important lesson: Always love someone who will love you back. When Maria is abandoned by the man who has declared his love for her, she follows him to Salem, Massachusetts. Here she invokes the curse that will haunt her family. And it’s here that she learns the rules of magic and the lesson that she will carry with her for the rest of her life. Love is the only thing that matters.

Trade Paperback



Author Alice Hoffman Introduces our September Pick

Join Our Club and Join the Conversation!

Listen to the Audio Excerpt!

Feel Good Fiction for a Little Pick-Me-Up

Literary Fiction Picks to Bring to Your Club

Twisty Reads to Unravel

Most Anticipated: Upcoming Books We Can't Wait to Read

Browse Books with Reading Group Guides

Catch Up on Book Club News

Book Club at the Beach: What My Club is Reading This Summer

With a summer of reading ahead, I’ve rounded up a list of beachy book club picks I’ll be discussing with my literary friends.

Anthropologie x Simon & Schuster Book Club

Let's get literary with author Zakiya Dalila Harris and Nnenna Odeluga of @scsreads on August 31 at 7 pm EDT

10 Must-Read Books For Every Summer Reading List

Having trouble deciding which books to pop into your beach bag first? Here are a few summer favorites.