Skip to Main Content
· Authors · Books ·
Simon & Schuster authors and employees share the moment when they were able to connect with a character that reflected their own personal narrative. Seeing themselves reflected in a book had a powerful impact on their sense of self and shaped the writers they would later become. View the trailer here.

June Features

I Don't Want to Die Poor

Essays

From the New York Times bestselling author of I Can’t Date Jesus, which Vogue called “a piece of personal and cultural storytelling that is as fun as it is illuminating,” comes a wry and insightful essay collection that explores the financial and emotional cost of chasing your dreams.

Trade Paperback

LIST PRICE $17.00

PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER
Hola Papi

How to Come Out in a Walmart Parking Lot and Other Life Lessons

From popular LGBTQ advice columnist and writer John Paul Brammer comes a hilarious, heartwarming memoir-in-essays chronicling his journey growing up as a queer, mixed-race kid in America’s heartland to becoming the “Chicano Carrie Bradshaw” of his generation.

How We Fight for Our Lives

A Memoir

From award-winning poet Saeed Jones, How We Fight for Our Lives—winner of the Kirkus Prize and the Stonewall Book Award—is a “moving, bracingly honest memoir” (The New York Times Book Review) written at the crossroads of sex, race, and power.

Trade Paperback

LIST PRICE $17.00

PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

Audio Download

LIST PRICE $23.99

Surpassing Certainty

What My Twenties Taught Me

“A defining chronicle of strength and spirit” (Kirkus Reviews), Surpassing Certainty is a portrait of a young woman searching for her purpose and place in the world—without a road map to guide her. This memoir “should be required reading for your 20s” (Cosmopolitan).

Trade Paperback

LIST PRICE $16.99

PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

Audio Download

LIST PRICE $17.99

Everybody (Else) Is Perfect

How I Survived Hypocrisy, Beauty, Clicks, and Likes

From the former editor-in-chief of Nylon comes a provocative and intimate collection of personal and cultural essays featuring eye-opening explorations of hot button topics for modern women, including internet feminism, impossible beauty standards in social media, shifting ideals about sexuality, and much more.


Audio Download

LIST PRICE $17.99