Debuts Perfect for Book Clubs

A shortlisted finalist for the 2018 Scotiabank Giller Prize and the ALA 2019 Reading List for Science Fiction

“Thea Lim’s An Ocean of Minutes is that rare thing—a speculative novel that is as heartfelt as it is philosophical. In lucid prose, Lim lays bare the complexities of migration and displacement, while offering a clear-eyed meditation on the elusive nature of human devotion.” —Esi Edugyan, Man Booker Prize Finalist and author of Washington Black

“Lim paints a strange and unfamiliar world with her novel, full of fascinating social commentary on class differences, racism, and sexism.” —The Los Angeles Times

Trade Paperback

List Price $15.99 (price may vary by retailer)

Audio Download

List Price $17.99 (price may vary by retailer)

In the vein of Big Little Lies and Reconstructing Amelia comes an emotionally charged domestic suspense novel about a mother unraveling the truth behind how her daughter became brain dead. And pregnant.

Trade Paperback

List Price $16.00 (price may vary by retailer)

Audio Download

List Price $19.99 (price may vary by retailer)

For fans of the high-stakes tension of the New York Times bestsellers Luckiest Girl Alive and The Lying Game, a razor-sharp page-turner about female ambition and what happens when fake violence draws real blood…

Hardcover

List Price $27.00 (price may vary by retailer)

Audio Download

List Price $19.99 (price may vary by retailer)

NAMED ONE OF THE MOST ANTICIPATED BOOKS OF 2019 BY WOMAN’S DAY, NEWSDAY, PUBLISHERS WEEKLY, BUSTLE, AND BOOK RIOT!

“[B]rilliant, timely, funny, heartbreaking.” —Jojo Moyes, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Me Before You

Bridget Jones’s Diary meets Americanah in this disarmingly honest, boldly political, and truly inclusive novel that will speak to anyone who has gone looking for love and found something very different in its place.

Hardcover

List Price $26.00 (price may vary by retailer)

Audio Download

List Price $23.99 (price may vary by retailer)

Named one of 2019’s most anticipated reads by LitHub and Entertainment Weekly

From a bright new voice in contemporary fiction comes a hilarious and sophisticated comedy of manners about a delightfully eccentric family and the absurd happenings that befall them during one frenzied summer at their home in the Pacific Northwest.

Hardcover

List Price $26.00 (price may vary by retailer)

Audio Download

List Price $19.99 (price may vary by retailer)

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Available for the first time as a hardcover, the stunning debut novel from one of the most creative artists of our generation, Bobby Hall, a.k.a. Logic.

“Bobby Hall has crafted a mind-bending first novel, with prose that is just as fierce and moving as his lyrics. Supermarket is like Naked Lunch meets One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest—if they met at Fight Club.” —Ernest Cline, #1 New York Times Bestselling author of Ready Player One
 

Hardcover

List Price $26.99 (price may vary by retailer)

Audio Download

List Price $17.99 (price may vary by retailer)

“It’s early to be pegging the year’s best books, but The Wolf and the Watchman, Niklas Natt och Dag’s stunning debut, is sure to be one of them.” —The Washington Post

“What's better than an ornate period piece with style to spare? One that includes a murder mystery. Oh, and boy is it a riveting mystery....A bit of Patrick Süskind’s Perfume and a bit of Sherlock Holmes, this wolf has some bite to it.” —NPR

“Reads like a season of ‘True Detective’...anchored by a powerful sense of place and a memorable cast of characters....You won’t soon forget it.” —USA TODAY

Named Best Debut Novel of 2017 by the Swedish Academy of Crime Writers

Hardcover

List Price $28.00 (price may vary by retailer)

Audio Download

List Price $23.99 (price may vary by retailer)

“Extraordinary...beautifully precise...[an] earnestly ambitious debut.”—The New York Times Book Review

“A wild, angry, and devastating masterpiece of a book.”—NPR

“[A] descendent of the Dickensian ‘social novel’ by way of Jonathan Franzen: epic fiction that lays bare contemporary culture clashes, showing us who we are and how we got here.”—O, The Oprah Magazine

Trade Paperback

List Price $16.99 (price may vary by retailer)

Audio Download

List Price $29.99 (price may vary by retailer)

Jojo Moyes meets Eleanor Oliphant in Goodbye, Paris, an utterly charming novel that proves that sometimes you have to break your heart to make it whole.

Hardcover

List Price $24.99 (price may vary by retailer)

Audio Download

List Price $19.99 (price may vary by retailer)

The #1 International Bestseller

New York Times Editor’s Choice

“A lush, evocative Gothic.” —The New York Times Book Review

“This terrifically exciting novel will jolt, thrill, and bewitch readers.” —Booklist, starred review

Obsession is an art.

In this “sharp, scary, gorgeously evocative tale of love, art, and obsession” (Paula Hawkins, bestselling author of The Girl on the Train), a beautiful young woman aspires to be an artist, while a man’s dark obsession may destroy her world forever.
 

Hardcover

List Price $27.00 (price may vary by retailer)

Audio Download

List Price $19.99 (price may vary by retailer)

What should have been a fun-filled, carefree day takes a tragic turn for the worse for one mother when her best friend’s child goes missing in this “seriously page-turning” (Lisa Jewell, New York Times bestselling author), suspenseful, and darkly twisted psychological thriller.

Trade Paperback

List Price $16.00 (price may vary by retailer)

Audio Download

List Price $19.99 (price may vary by retailer)

“Fluent, mordant, authentic, propulsive…wonderfully lit from within” (Lee Child, The New York Times Book Review), this critically acclaimed, stunningly mature literary debut is the darkly comic story of a car thief on the run in the gritty and arid landscape of the 1970s Texas panhandle.
 

Trade Paperback

List Price $17.00 (price may vary by retailer)

Audio Download

List Price $19.99 (price may vary by retailer)

An eccentric woman who is great with numbers—but not so great with people—realizes it’s up to her to pull a community together in this charming, big-hearted debut perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine and The Rosie Project.
 

Hardcover

List Price $26.00 (price may vary by retailer)

Audio Download

List Price $19.99 (price may vary by retailer)

A stunning debut novel about a teenage girl and her mother as they grapple with first love, family secrets, and tragedy.

Hardcover

List Price $27.00 (price may vary by retailer)

Audio Download

List Price $19.99 (price may vary by retailer)

* MOST ANTICIPATED SUMMER READING SELECTION BY * ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY * BUZZFEED *

“In this intelligent, entertaining and elegantly written novel, James Gregor pulls off something many psychological novelists aspire to and few achieve: he convincingly captures the thinking of a character who earnestly sees himself as sympathetic, even as he behaves terribly.” —Adelle Waldman, author of The Love Affairs of Nathaniel P.

"Be it the horrors of online dating, the absurdity of academia, or the dicey interplay of gender and class, I'm convinced there's nothing that escapes James Gregor's attention." —Grant Ginder, author of Honestly, We Meant Well

"Going Dutch is my favorite kind of novel—smart, insightful, and brimming with sly humor." —Stephen McCauley, author of My Ex-Life

“[An] excellent debut…Marvelously witty...Announces Gregor as a fresh, electric new voice.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"A comedy of manners for the (very) modern age." —Entertainment Weekly

"Masterful. [An] exciting debut, and will leave you eager for more." —BuzzFeed

Hardcover

List Price $26.99 (price may vary by retailer)

Audio Download

List Price $19.99 (price may vary by retailer)

Beware the Man of the Year. You may praise him, resent him, even want to be him: but beneath the elegant trappings that define him, danger looms. Caroline Louise Walker’s stunning debut novel, for fans of Herman Koch’s The Dinner and Shari Lapena’s The Couple Next Door, delves into the increasingly paranoid mind of a man whose life as the most upstanding of citizens hides a relentlessly dark heart.

Hardcover

List Price $26.00 (price may vary by retailer)

Trade Paperback

List Price $16.00 (price may vary by retailer)