The Sinister Mystery of the Mesmerizing Girl

LIST PRICE $7.99

About The Book

Mary Jekyll and the Athena Club race to save Alice—and foil a plot to unseat the Queen, in the electrifying conclusion to the trilogy that began with the Nebula Award finalist and Locus Award-winner The Strange Case of the Alchemist’s Daughter.

Life’s always an adventure for the Athena Club...especially when one of their own has been kidnapped! After their thrilling European escapades rescuing Lucina van Helsing, Mary Jekyll and her friends return home to discover that their friend and kitchen maid Alice has vanished—and so has Mary's employer Sherlock Holmes!

As they race to find Alice and bring her home safely, they discover that Alice and Sherlock’s kidnapping are only one small part of a plot that threatens Queen Victoria, and the very future of the British Empire. Can Mary, Diana, Beatrice, Catherine, and Justine save their friends—and save England? Find out in the final installment of the fantastic and memorable Extraordinary Adventures of the Athena Club series.

About The Author

Photography by Matthew Stein Photography

Theodora Goss is the World Fantasy Award–winning author of many publications, including the short story collection In the Forest of Forgetting ; Interfictions, a short story anthology coedited with Delia Sherman; Voices from Fairyland, a poetry anthology with critical essays and a selection of her own poems; The Thorn and the Blossom, a novella in a two-sided accordion format; and the poetry collection Songs for Ophelia; and the novels, The Strange Case of the Alchemist’s Daughter, European Travel for the Monstrous Gentlewoman, and Sinister Mystery of the Mesmerizing Girl. She has been a finalist for the Nebula, Locus, Crawford, Seiun, and Mythopoeic Awards, as well as on the Tiptree Award Honor List, and her work has been translated into eleven languages. She teaches literature and writing at Boston University and in the Stonecoast MFA Program. Visit her at TheodoraGoss.com.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Gallery / Saga Press (October 1, 2019)
  • Length: 448 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781534427891

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

“Theodora Goss is a wonder. Her elegance, wit and powerful voice pull no punches. A brilliant, deeply felt, and nimble book.”

– Catherynne M. Valente, Hugo-Award winning author, on THE STRANGE CASE OF THE ALCHEMIST'S DAUGHTER

“Theodora Goss' splendid debut novel is a whipsmart look at the truths hiding in the stories - Jekyll and Hyde, Frankenstein, and others - that you might think you know. Full of bravery, adventures, monsters, and sisters, The Strange Case of the Alchemist's Daughter is a rich delight. I loved it, and I can't wait to read the next book.”

– Kat Howard, author of ROSES AND ROT, on THE STRANGE CASE OF THE ALCHEMIST'S DAUGHTER

"Theodora Goss' The Strange Case of the Alchemist's Daughter provides a new and altogether mesmerizing revelation for fans of Watson & Holmes, Van Helsing, Jeckyll & Hyde, and Victor Frankenstein: until now, you've only heard half the story.  Goss' deft, poetic interweaving of edge-of-the-seat adventure with the artful voices of her characters creates a matryoshka doll of hidden Gothic fiction in the best sense. The Strange Case of the Alchemist’s Daughter proves the point that behind every evil genius you'll find a team of fantastic women working to set things right.

 As if Charlie's Angels, as written by Mary Shelley, took over the Bluestocking Society, with bonus well-mannered explosions. An utterly delightful, transformative read."

– Fran Wilde, award-winning author of Updraft, Cloudbound, and Horizon on THE STRANGE CASE OF THE ALCH

*Winner of the Locus Award for Best First Novel*

*Finalist for the Nebula Award for Best Novel*

*Finalist for the World Fantasy Award for Best Novel*

* "A tour de force of reclaiming the narrative, executed with impressive wit and insight."

– Publishers Weekly, STARRED REVIEW, on THE STRANGE CASE OF THE ALCHEMIST'S DAUGHTER

"An enormously accomplished delight of a book...a brilliant novel."

– Liz Bourke on THE STRANGE CASE OF THE ALCHEMIST'S DAUGHTER

"A pleasure, especially for fans of Victorian detective stories, classic sf and horror literature, and feminist remakes."

– Booklist on THE STRANGE CASE OF THE ALCHEMIST'S DAUGHTER

"A delightful romp through Victorian gothic literature, with a decidedly feminist slant."

– Library Journal on THE STRANGE CASE OF THE ALCHEMIST'S DAUGHTER

"A swiftly paced, immaculately plotted mystery full of winning characters you always thought you knew, as well as ones you would never have imagined."

– NPR on THE STRANGE CASE OF THE ALCHEMIST'S DAUGHTER

"If you’re looking for adventure, kick-ass ladies, a good mystery, and a touch of the monstrous, look no further—The Strange Case of the Alchemist’s Daughter is the brainy, gleefully madcap literary mashup of your dreams."

– B&N SciFi & Fantasy Blog on THE STRANGE CASE OF THE ALCHEMIST'S DAUGHTER

" Like a literary magpie, Goss snaps up some of the shiniest bits of Victorian popular culture, but she makes them her own, seeing the possibilities beyond the efforts of their original creators and constructing an intelligent and engrossing 21st-century adventure."

– The Portland Press Herald on THE STRANGE CASE OF THE ALCHEMIST'S DAUGHTER

"Goss skillfully balances the revisionist feminist themes with a crackling conspiracy adventure and a colorful portrait of Victorian London."

– The Chicago Tribune on THE STRANGE CASE OF THE ALCHEMIST'S DAUGHTER

"They are just as much fun as their fictional fathers, and like the League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, their talents play off against one other, anchored by Mary, the most normal of them: prudent, thrifty, genteel, her father’s revolver loaded and ready."

– The Wall Street Journal on THE STRANGE CASE OF THE ALCHEMIST'S DAUGHTER

"Goss upends fantasy tropes to bring to life characters who would have been ignored in the period works that inspired them, and the result is a fantastic, gripping read that feels true to the spirit of the original works, but updated with a modern spin for the 21st century reader.”

– The Verge on THE STRANGE CASE OF THE ALCHEMIST'S DAUGHTER

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Theodora Goss

More books in this series: The Extraordinary Adventures of the Athena Club