Skip to Main Content

The Seven Against Thebes

Published by Start Publishing LLC
Distributed by Simon & Schuster

About The Book

Aeschylus was the first of the three ancient Greek tragedians whose plays can still be read or performed, the others being Sophocles and Euripides. He is often described as the father of tragedy: our knowledge of the genre begins with his work and our understanding of earlier tragedies is largely based on inferences from his surviving plays. Only seven of his estimated seventy to ninety plays have survived into modern times. Fragments of some other plays have survived in quotes and more continue to be discovered on Egyptian papyrus, often giving us surprising insights into his work.

About The Author

Product Details

  • Publisher: Start Publishing LLC (August 24, 2015)
  • Length: 36 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781681462653

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Aeschylus