Skip to Main Content


About The Book

Based on six games played by the “Kasparov generation” of Soviet chess players, America’s foremost chess coach and game strategist for Netflix’s The Queen’s Gambit presents a complete course in intermediate chess logic.​

The “Kasparov generation” of Soviet chess players is perhaps the best-trained crop of young players ever to come out of the country, holding the world title for 55 of the last 60 years.

With the clarity of instruction for which he is renowned, Bruce Pandolfini illustrates such concepts as Light Squares, Time, Attack, Pawn Advances, and Counterattack in six chapters structured around each of the six games.

Featuring a Grandmaster Glossary, 101 diagrams, an index, and algebraic notation throughout, this uniquely crafted volume puts the most valuable concepts in world-class chess at the intermediate player’s fingertips.

About The Author

Photo Credit: Brian Killigrew

Bruce Pandolfini is one of the world’s most sought-after chess teachers and one of the most widely read chess writers working today. His role as analyst for PBS’s coverage of the 1972 match between chess superstars Bobby Fischer and Boris Spassky first launched him into the public eye. His coaching of chess prodigy Josh Waitzkin was portrayed in the book and film Searching for Bobby Fischer. He is a regular columnist for Chess Life, the bible of the chess world, and continues to coach young players professionally and consults for CEOs from numerous Fortune 500 companies. Pandolfini also created over 300 hypothetical games as a consultant for Netflix’s The Queen’s Gambit. He lives in New York City.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Touchstone (March 15, 1987)
  • Length: 224 pages
  • ISBN13: 9780671619848

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Bruce Pandolfini