More than Happy

The Wisdom of Amish Parenting

LIST PRICE $16.99
PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

About The Book

In the tradition of Bringing Up Bebe and Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother, an in-depth look at the practices and principles of Amish parents and how they raise children who are self-sufficient, hard-working, and remarkably happy.

The more time Serena Miller spent in Holmes County, Ohio, doing research for her popular Amish novels, the more she began to notice something—Amish children were the happiest children she’d ever seen. Despite not having modern toys and conveniences, they are joyful, serene, calm, and respectful—not to mention whipping up full meals and driving buggies before most of us will allow our children to walk to school alone. And yet, when she started asking questions about what these parents were doing differently, she was startled to learn that happiness is not a goal Amish strive for at all.

In More Than Happy Miller uncovers many surprising insights, including the significance of real responsibilities, the wisdom of unplugging from technology, the value of unstructured time to play, the importance of firm rules, and the importance of each teenager’s freedom to decide what is best for their future.

Full of practical takeaways, More Than Happy shows you how to apply the basic principles and parenting techniques the Amish use, so you can raise happy, well-adjusted kids.

About The Author

Photography by KMK Photography by Angie Griffith

Prior to writing novels, Serena Miller wrote for many periodicals, including Woman’s World, Guideposts, Reader’s Digest, Focus on the Family, Christian Woman, and The Detroit Free Press Magazine. She has spent many years partnering with her husband in full-time ministry and lives on a farm in southern Ohio near a thriving Amish community.

Raves and Reviews

“Not only provides a kaleidoscope of insight into the daily structure of Amish parenting, but… compares and contrasts it with ‘Englisch’ parenting and offers ways to incorporate Amish methods into one's own life. A rich, entertaining compendium.”

– Kirkus

"Miller gleans helpful clues about parenting that can be used in non-Amish homes... A useful offering."

– Booklist

"With charming examples and interesting first-hand observations, Miller shows us how Amish parents instill the values, virtues, and habits that mark their children with exceptional personal character and abiding faith."

– Marybeth Hicks, author of Teachable Moments

“How I long to hear a parent say, ‘I just want my child to be humble’ rather than ‘I just want my child to be happy.’ In the closing chapter of More Than Happy, Serena and Paul drive the message home that who we are and what we stand for determines who our children become.”

– Jill Rigby Garner, Founder, Manners of the Heart® and author of Raising Respectful Children in a Disrespectful World

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Serena B. Miller