Skip to Main Content

Homecoming's Fall

Published by Solaris
Distributed by Simon & Schuster



Buy from Other Retailers

About The Book

This stand-alone novel in the celebrated After The War Series sees war hero Orec Blackblade, bitter at missing the final battle against the Kinslayer and the death of his comrades, coming to the aid of Doctors Catt and Fisher to stop another evil power wreaking havoc across their war-torn land.

Orec Blackblade missed the fall of the Kinslayer, tasked instead with leading his elite band of warriors on a diversionary battle where he split the head and pulsating crown of the enemy’s sorcerer, causing a blast that killed almost everyone in a 100-meter radius.

Just four months later the broken circlet finds its way to Doctors Catt and Fisher, collectors of rare artefacts, and their innate curiosity and tinkering with the crown unleashes a new terror on the land. Only Orec and his surviving men can stop it, but will the black sword he carries be enough to stop the coming darkness?

About The Author

Mark de Jager isn’t sure if his love of writing led to his love of gaming or vice versa, but his earliest memories involve both. He now spends his time trying to find a balance between these and working a full time job in the City, a process made slightly easier by his coffee addiction. An ex-MP in the South African army, Mark now lives in Kent with his wife Liz (herself a published author) and their lazy dog in a house that is equal parts library and home.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Solaris (December 6, 2022)
  • Length: 400 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781786187215

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

"I really enjoyed Redemp­tion’s Blade, and I’d like to see more." -- Liz Bourke, Locus

"If you’re looking for something that celebrates the genre, while working to interrogate and question how that genre works, look no further than Redemption’s Blade. I can only hope there are more tales to tell in this world to come." --

"Salvation’s Fire... it’s a damn good book in its own right." -- Liz Bourke, Locus

"All in all, four different takes on two great characters, each author bringing something different and interesting to make a lovely little collection. You don’t have to have read the other books to enjoy them, though you probably get a bit more out of them if you do." --

"Catt and Fisher, or Catty and Fishy to their friends, are a delight... I just have to have more of these characters in my life." --

"If Jack Reacher came to Westeros and started beating the hell out of everybody, you’d have Mark De Jager’s Infernal ... daring, dangerous, and full of surprises" -- Sebastien de Castell

"Clever, funny and cheerfully brutal" -- Snorri Kristjansson (on Infernal)

"Infernal proves to be an incredibly strong start for this series. With drama, mystery, bloodshed, and grim humour abound, fans who favour the likes of The Elric Saga or The Silerian Trilogy will definitely have some fun with this one" -- Starburst

"Epic fantasy without any pretensions of changing literature or establishing itself in the canon, Infernal is only concerned with being entertaining. And it definitely succeeds." -- SciFiNow (on Infernal)

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Mark Jager

More books in this series: After the War