Skip to Main Content

About The Book

The thirteenth novel in the British mystery series featuring Inspector Luke Thanet from the Silver Dagger award-winning author Dorothy Simpson, “a modern-day version of Agatha Christie” (Booklist).

When playboy Max Jeopard is killed at his own engagement party, Inspector Luke Thanet is called in to investigate and uncovers a host of suspects, including his fiancée, a jealous brother, an ex-girlfriend, and the victim’s future in-laws. “This English village ‘cozy’ goes down well” (Library Journal).

“A master at plot manipulation, Ms. Simpson cunningly strews clues right and left…The pleasure here is watching Thanet meticulously pick his way through ‘the complex web of relationships’ to arrive at an understanding of what would make a person kill for love.” —The New York Times Book Review

About The Author

Dorothy Simpson was born in South Wales and went to Bristol University, where she studied languages before moving to Kent, the setting for her Inspector Thanet mystery novels. She is the winner of a Silver Dagger Award from the Crime Writers’ Association of Great Britain.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Scribner (January 10, 2017)
  • Length: 288 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781501165566

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Dorothy Simpson