Skip to Main Content


An Inspector Luke Thanet Novel

About The Book

When playboy Max Jeopard is killed at his own engagement party, Inspector Luke Thanet is called in to investigate and uncovers a host of suspects, including his fiancée, a jealous brother, an ex-girlfriend, and the victim’s future in-laws. “This English village ‘cozy’ goes down well” (Library Journal).

“A master at plot manipulation, Ms. Simpson cunningly strews clues right and left…The pleasure here is watching Thanet meticulously pick his way through ‘the complex web of relationships’ to arrive at an understanding of what would make a person kill for love.” —The New York Times Book Review

About The Author

Dorothy Simpson was born in South Wales and went to Bristol University, where she studied languages before moving to Kent, the setting for her Inspector Thanet mystery novels. She is the winner of a Silver Dagger Award from the Crime Writers’ Association of Great Britain.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Scribner (May 21, 2016)
  • Length: 288 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781501153761

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Dorothy Simpson