Anna, Banana, and the Big-Mouth Bet

Illustrated by Meg Park
(Book #3 of Anna, Banana)
LIST PRICE $5.99
Price may vary by retailer
BUY FROM:
BUY FROM SIMON & SCHUSTER:
In Stock: Usually ships within 1 business day
About The Book

Anna finds herself standing up to the class clown in the third book of a charming illustrated chapter book series about the joys and challenges of elementary school friendships.

Anna has a loose tooth! It’s as wiggly as her dog Banana’s tail. But when Anna is poking at her loose tooth, class clown Justin keeps poking fun at Anna and her friends.

Anna tries to make Justin leave them alone and gets pulled into a high-stakes bet. If Anna wins, Justin has to play nice; but if Anna loses, she has to do something so jaw-droppingly embarrassing, even Banana can’t believe it.

There’s no wiggling her way out of this one. Anna has to win this bet.

Excerpt
Anna, Banana, and the Big-Mouth Bet Chapter One That Spells Trouble


Trouble, I wrote, spelling it out in my head as I printed the word on the test. T-r-o-u-b-l-e.

O-plus-U and L-before-E were the hard parts in that one, but I was certain I’d gotten it right. Dad had quizzed me on all the spelling and vocabulary words this morning at breakfast, and even Banana was amazed by how quickly I’d breezed through them. And dogs are hardly ever impressed by good spelling.

I tapped my lucky blue pencil against my lip as I thought about how to use the word in a sentence. Banana once got in trouble for chewing Chuck’s sneaker, I wrote, wrinkling my nose at the memory. Banana doesn’t chew on things she’s not supposed to anymore, but she still loves sniffing at things that stink, including my older brother’s yucky shoes.

“Pesky!” our teacher, Ms. Burland, exclaimed. She always sings out the words for our tests as though she’s performing them onstage. It makes the quizzes a lot more dramatic, and even kind of fun. “Pesky,” she repeated, this time in a low, booming voice. Beside me, my best friend Isabel giggled.

I wrote down the word, then used it in a sentence: Those pesky flies won’t leave us alone!

I glanced over at my other best friend, Sadie. I knew she’d been nervous about the test, so I was worried for her. But Sadie was bent over her paper, scribbling the answer, with her curls spilling into her face. It looked like she was doing fine.



“No cheating, Anna!” Justin called out from the desk behind mine. My mouth fell open and my heart sped up at the attack. I wasn’t cheating!

Ms. Burland raised her eyebrows in our direction. “You should all have your eyes on your own papers, please,” she said.

I looked down quickly. I wasn’t really in trouble, but my cheeks still burned. Forget flies—I should have written my sentence about pesky Justin. He was the worst.

“Accuse,” Ms. Burland announced, sounding stern. “Accuse!” she repeated, calling it out like a cheerful greeting.

I narrowed my eyes. Justin likes to accuse innocent girls of cheating, I wrote on my test. There. That ought to clear my name. And I hoped Ms. Burland would notice that I’d also used one of last week’s spelling words, “innocent,” and spelled it correctly. I thought that was pretty clever of me.

But wait, was “cheating” spelled right? I pressed my lips together, thinking hard, and gasped. I’d felt a tooth move! I touched the tooth with my tongue and pushed it again. Sure enough, it wiggled.



I was so distracted by the slightly loose tooth, I almost missed the final spelling word. Luckily, Ms. Burland said it once more. “About.”

I spelled it out carefully and wrote, I can’t wait to tell Banana and Sadie and Isabel about my loose tooth!
About The Author
Photograph (c) Kim Indresano

Anica Mrose Rissi grew up on an island off the coast of Maine, where she read a lot of books and loved a lot of pets. She now tells and collects stories, makes up songs on her violin, and eats lots of cheese with her friends in Princeton, New Jersey, where she lives with her dog, Arugula. Find out more at AnicaRissi.com and follow @AnicaRissi on Twitter.

About The Illustrator

Meg Park is a character designer and illustrator for clients including Disney, Nickelodeon, and Paramount Pictures. Meg lives in Scotland with her two cats Louie and Boo. She loves drawing, painting, and telling stories through her artwork.

Product Details
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (September 2016)
  • Length: 128 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781481416122
  • Grades: 1 - 5
  • Ages: 6 - 10
  • Lexile ® 770L ? The Lexile reading levels have been certified by the Lexile developer, MetaMetrics®

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

“Fast-paced, fun, and funny. Girls will lap up this easy-breezy friendship story like a banana split—and the happy ending is the cherry on top!”

– Megan McDonald, bestselling author of the Judy Moody series

"I've drawn rainbow sparkle hearts on every page of this book, because I love it that much. A perfect friendship story!"

– Lauren Myracle, bestselling author of the Winnie Years series

"Fans of Sara Pennypacker’s Clementine, Hilary McKay’s Lulu, and Anna Branford’s Violet Mackerel will enjoy meeting Anna and her friends."

– School Library Journal

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Anica Mrose Rissi

More books from this illustrator: Meg Park

More books in this series: Anna, Banana