Skip to Main Content

Picture Books that Feature STEM Subjects

STEM stands for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math. These picture books for kids ages 4-8 explore scientific topics, including space, engineering, and more! If you have a naturally curious child, check these books out! 
Animal Architects

This fascinating nonfiction picture book about animal construction projects will captivate young scientists and naturalists—and have them looking for more in their own backyards!

The Great Stink

How Joseph Bazalgette Solved London's Poop Pollution Problem

Discover the true story about the determined engineer who fixed London’s pollution problem in this funny, accessible nonfiction picture book featuring engaging art from the illustrator of Queen Victoria’s Bathing Machine.

Dr. Fauci

How a Boy from Brooklyn Became America's Doctor

The definitive picture book biography of Dr. Anthony Fauci, the director of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases and one of the most crucial figures in the COVID-19 pandemic.

Nerdycorn

Fern isn’t your usual unicorn…she loves chemistry and math more than glitter or flowers—and she refuses to change who she is in this sweet and empowering picture book about being yourself—and standing up for yourself, too!

You Matter

Named Best Book of the Year by Barnes & Noble, The New York Times/New York Public Library, Publishers Weekly, and School Library Journal

They All Saw a Cat meets The Important Book in this sensitive and impactful picture book about seeing the world from different points of view by Caldecott and Coretta Scott King Honoree Christian Robinson.

Pluto Gets the Call

Pluto gets a call from Earth telling him he isn’t a planet anymore, so he sets out on a journey through the solar system to find out why in this funny and fact-filled romp that’s perfect for fans of The Scrambled States of America.

Counting the Stars

The Story of Katherine Johnson, NASA Mathematician

From award-winning author Lesa Cline-Ransome and acclaimed illustrator Raúl Colón comes the sensitive, informative, and inspiring picture book biography of the remarkable mathematician Katherine Johnson, one of the NASA “human computers” whose work was critical to the first US space launch.

Ada Lovelace, Poet of Science

The First Computer Programmer

From nonfiction stars Diane Stanley and Jessie Hartland comes a beautifully illustrated biography of Ada Lovelace, who is known as the first computer programmer.

When Sparks Fly

The True Story of Robert Goddard, the Father of US Rocketry

Blast off with this bright, energetic nonfiction picture book from Kristen Fulton and Diego Funck all about Robert Goddard, the inventor of US rocket science!

The World Is Not a Rectangle

A Portrait of Architect Zaha Hadid

Washington Post Best Children’s Book of 2017
Parents’ Choice Recommended

Get to know Zaha Hadid in this nonfiction picture book about the famed architect’s life and her triumph over adversity from celebrated author-illustrator Jeanette Winter.
 

Moonshot

The Flight of Apollo 11

An extraordinary delight for a reader of any age.” —The New York Times Book Review

Brian Floca explores Apollo 11’s famed moon landing with this newly expanded edition of Moonshot!

The Shape of the World

A Portrait of Frank Lloyd Wright

A little boy who loves to find shapes in nature grows up to be one of America’s greatest architects in this inspiring biography of Frank Lloyd Wright.

Round

From award-winning author Jennifer Ward and celebrated artist Lisa Congdon in her debut picture book comes a lyrical, rhyming exploration of the many round things that can be found in nature.

Your Amazing Skin from Outside In

A Bank Street Best Book of 2019

It’s itchy, it’s sweaty, it’s embarrassing...but most of all, it’s fascinating! Dr. Joanne Settel has all the answers to our most burning questions in this wacky and informative book of poems about our skin.

Fur, Feather, Fin—All of Us Are Kin

Come along on a rhyming tour through the amazing animal kingdom—from mammals to millipedes and everything in between—with this engaging picture book about how all creatures are connected!

Herstory

50 Women and Girls Who Shook Up the World

Move aside history—it’s time for herstory.

Celebrate fifty inspiring and powerful women who changed the world and left their mark in this lavishly illustrated biography compilation that’s perfect for fans of Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls and She Persisted.