Books to Celebrate Hispanic Heritage Month

From September 15-October 15, Hispanic Heritage Month commemorates the amazing contributions of Hispanic and Latinx Americans. To celebrate, discover (or rediscover) these stunning books—spanning from memoirs to picture books—by some of our favorite Hispanic and Latinx authors and illustrators!

New York Times and worldwide bestselling author Isabel Allende returns with a sweeping novel that journeys from present-day Brooklyn to Guatemala in the recent past to 1970s Chile and Brazil.

eBook

List Price $12.99 (price may vary by retailer)

Audio Download

List Price $23.99 (price may vary by retailer)

“In this poignant memoir about her childhood in Mexico, Reyna Grande skillfully depicts another side of the immigrant experience—the hardships and heartbreaks of the children who are left behind.” —Sonia Nazario, Pulitzer Prize winner, and author of Enrique's Journey

eBook

List Price $13.99 (price may vary by retailer)

From bestselling author of the remarkable memoir, The Distance Between Us comes an inspiring account of one woman’s quest to find her place in America as a first-generation Latina university student and aspiring writer determined to build a new life for her family one fearless word at a time. “Here is a life story so unbelievable, it could only be true” (Sandra Cisneros, bestselling author of The House on Mango Street).
 

eBook

List Price $12.99 (price may vary by retailer)

Audio Download

List Price $19.99 (price may vary by retailer)

Perfect for fans of Fresh Off the Boat’s situational humor and Jane the Virgin’s celebration of Latinidad, Definitely Hispanic is a collection of introspective memoiristic essays by social media influencer and viral phenomenon LeJuan James about growing up Hispanic in the US.

eBook

List Price $12.99 (price may vary by retailer)

Audio Download

List Price $17.99 (price may vary by retailer)

A young girl flees Nazi-occupied Germany with her family and best friend, only to discover that the overseas refuge they had been promised is an illusion in this “engrossing and heartbreaking” (Library Journal, starred review) debut novel, perfect for fans of The Nightingale, Lilac Girls, and We Were the Lucky Ones.

eBook

List Price $11.99 (price may vary by retailer)

Against the background of a thousand years of vivid history, acclaimed writer Marie Arana tells the timely and timeless stories of three contemporary Latin Americans whose lives represent three driving forces that have shaped the character of the region: exploitation (silver), violence (sword), and religion (stone).

eBook

List Price $14.99 (price may vary by retailer)

Audio Download

List Price $23.99 (price may vary by retailer)

A generational saga that mixes historical fiction with the romance and intrigue of a Latin soap opera. Set in 1960s Ecuador, The Sisters of Alameda Street is a sweeping story of how one woman’s search for the truth of her identity forces a family to confront their own past.

eBook

List Price $16.99 (price may vary by retailer)

We slipped into this country like thieves, onto the land that once was ours.

With these words, spoken by an illegal Mexican day laborer, The Madonnas of Echo Park takes us into the unseen world of Los Angeles, following the men and women who cook the meals, clean the homes, and struggle to lose their ethnic identity in the pursuit of the American dream.

eBook

List Price $11.99 (price may vary by retailer)

Audio Download

List Price $23.95 (price may vary by retailer)

John Hughes’s Pretty in Pink comes to the South Bronx in this bold and “emotional story about class, race, hard work, and finding one’s place” (Publishers Weekly)—from debut author Lilliam Rivera.

eBook

List Price $8.99 (price may vary by retailer)

The Lightning Thief meets the Story Thieves series in this middle grade fantasy inspired by Hispanic folklore, legends, and myths from the Iberian Peninsula and Central and South America.

eBook

List Price $8.99 (price may vary by retailer)

This Printz Honor Book is a “tender, honest exploration of identity” (Publishers Weekly) that distills lyrical truths about family and friendship.

eBook

List Price $10.99 (price may vary by retailer)

Audio Download

List Price $17.95 (price may vary by retailer)

The author of My Name Is María Isabel offers an inspiring look at her childhood in Cuba in this collection that includes Where the Flame Trees Bloom, Under the Royal Palms, five new stories, and more.

eBook

List Price $8.99 (price may vary by retailer)

Once upon a time, in a land far away...

These stories have journeyed far -- over mountains, deserts, and oceans -- carried by wind, passed on to us by our ancestors. Now they have found their way to you.

Hardcover

List Price $19.99 (price may vary by retailer)

In soaring words and stunning illustrations, Margarita Engle and Rafael López tell the story of Teresa Carreño, a child prodigy who played piano for Abraham Lincoln.

Fixed Layout eBook

List Price $10.99 (price may vary by retailer)

The inspiring and timely story of Sonia Sotomayor, who rose up from a childhood of poverty and prejudice to become the first Latino to be nominated to the US Supreme Court.

Fixed Layout eBook

List Price $10.99 (price may vary by retailer)

Join Pepe as he celebrates his Mexican-American heritage by participating in a Hispanic Day parade. Children will delight in seeing many Hispanic cultures proudly honored in this joyous picture book.

Hardcover

List Price $16.99 (price may vary by retailer)