Skip to Main Content

A unique voice in American poetry evocative of Han Shan’s Zen verses, Pablo Neruda’s Book of Questions, and the writings of Jack Kerouac.

What a long conversation
we never had!

All those rivers?
we never crossed together.

You so busy with your own life,
I so busy with mine. 

Dick Allen, one of the founders of the Expansive Poetry movement, has won the Robert Frost Prize, the Hart Crane Poetry Prize, and the Pushcart Prize—among others. His work has been anthologized five times in the Best American Poetry volumes, and has appeared in The New YorkerThe Atlantic MonthlyTricycleThe Buddhist Poetry Reviewand The American Poetry Review, as well as numerous other publications. He’s a former fellow of the National Endowment for the Arts, and a former Poet Laureate for the state of Connecticut, where he lives and writes.

Zen Master Poems features reflection, meditation, mystery, humor, admonition, koans, calm observation, and Buddhist thought for readers and seekers on every path.”

– Lion's Roar

“In the tradition of Mary Oliver and David Whyte, Dick Allen’s Zen Master Poems offers spiritual insights in lucid, seemingly effortless verse.”

– Tricycle

“A quietly stunning collection of poems.”

– New York Journal of Books