Skip to Main Content
Published by Zaffre
Distributed by Simon & Schuster

About The Book

A Courtney Series adventure – Book 1 in the When the Lion Feeds trilogy


Heirs to their father's fortune, destiny divides the Courtney twins from the start. Sean Courtney is strong, determined and adventurous, while Garrick Courtney is eager to escape the hardships of cattle-rearing, preferring to stay indoors with a book.

But when Garrick is suddenly forced to take ownership of the family farm, Sean must explore the opportunities awaiting him: the rush and horrors of the Zulu Wars, the women who will fall for his charms, the rise and fall of gold fever and the deadly thrills of big game hunting on the African plains.

Meanwhile, Garrick Courtney, left to manage the farm he loathes, wishes only for a quiet life. Happiness seems within his grasp with the beautiful Anna Van Essen, one of the broken-hearted women Sean left in his wake, but he is devastated when tragedy strikes once more.

As both brothers seek to realize their destinies, they find their paths must once again cross in a bitter showdown. Can either brother thrive while the other still lives??

When the Lion Feeds is the iconic debut novel from Wilbur Smith, one of the bestselling and most beloved authors of the 20th century.

About The Author

Wilbur Smith was born in Central Africa in 1933. He became a full-time writer in 1964 following the success of When the Lion Feeds, and has since published over fifty global bestsellers, including the Courtney Series, the Ballantyne Series, the Egyptian Series, the Hector Cross Series and many successful standalone novels, all meticulously researched on his numerous expeditions worldwide. An international phenomenon, his readership built up over fifty-five years of writing, establishing him as one of the most successful and impressive brand authors in the world.
The establishment of the Wilbur & Niso Smith Foundation in 2015 cemented Wilbur's passion for empowering writers, promoting literacy and advancing adventure writing as a genre. The foundation's flagship programme is the Wilbur Smith Adventure Writing Prize.

Wilbur Smith passed away peacefully at home in 2021 with his wife, Niso, by his side, leaving behind him a rich treasure-trove of novels and stories that will delight readers for years to come. For all the latest information on Wilbur Smith's writing visit or

Product Details

  • Publisher: Zaffre (June 5, 2018)
  • Length: 546 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781499860009

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Wilbur Smith

More books in this series: The Courtney Series: The When The Lion Feeds Trilogy