This Is How It Starts

A Novel

LIST PRICE $18.99
PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

About The Book

in the tradition of Jay McInerney, Grant Ginder’s phenomenal debut novel follows one post-collegiate idealist on his quest to fit in with—and then distance himself from—capital hill’s up-andcoming political and social elite who work hard but play harder.

• Striking debut: echoing with razor-sharp commentary, This Is How It Starts deftly captures the escapades of D.C.’s moneyed, socially and politically connected recent graduates. In this Bright Lights, Big City for the beltway, secrets are currency, the sex is bipartisan, and rules and boundaries are obsolete.

• Remarkable voice: Ginder’s writing is smart, witty, and resonates with an authenticity that will hook literary-minded readers of Brett easton ellis, Jeff Hobbs, and Joshua Ferris.

• Intriguing narrator: Taylor mack may have graduated from Princeton, but his Laguna Beach upbringing inadequately prepared him for life among D.C.’s movers and shakers. entertaining mishaps aside, Taylor soon discerns how to play the game and learns the cost of being an insider in a town that is unyielding in what it will take from a person in exchange for granting him a margin of knowledge and power.

About The Author

Photograph by Sarah Kearney

Grant Ginder is the author of This Is How It Starts. He received his MFA from NYU and lives in New York City.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster (June 2, 2009)
  • Length: 288 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781416595595

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

"In wickedly beautiful prose, Grant Ginder gives us a twenty-first-century morality tale that rivals any novel I've read in a long, long time. This Is How It Starts is a funny, sad, and heartfelt debut by one of America's best new writers." -- Donald Ray Pollock, author of Knockemstiff

"An engaging, insightful, wonderfully self-deprecating narrator holds our hand through an insider's tour of the Capitol, and Ginder's cozy, original prose gives us a portrait of disillusionment that is at turns brutal, poignant, shocking -- and always hilarious." -- Jeff Hobbs, national bestselling author of The Tourists

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Grant Ginder