Skip to Main Content

The Red Horseman

About The Book

Rear Admiral Jake Grafton must stop a Middle Eastern terrorist group from obtaining nuclear weapons in Moscow and avoid an assassination attempt on his life from rogue conspirators within the CIA before it’s too late.

As the infrastructure of the Soviet Union crumbles before the world’s eyes, twenty thousand tactical nuclear weapons, once under the command of the Soviet military, are up for grabs—and U.S. intelligence believes they may soon appear on the open market.

Rear Admiral Jake Grafton, Deputy Director of the Defense Intelligence Agency, is dispatched to Moscow. His assignment: ensure that the weapons are destroyed before the disappear into a Middle East terrorist pipeline. But Grafton discovers that unidentified American officials want his mission to fail—and will go to any length of stop it. Meanwhile, off the coast of the Canary Islands, the body of British billionaire and media magnate Nigel Keren has been found floating in the sea near his yacht. Grafton’s contracts in Israeli intelligence have evidence that he was the victim of hit squad from within the CIA. It’s the kind of knowledge that could prove fatal, but Grafton can’t back off: if the freelance operation succeeds, Middle East hostility could explode into an international conflagration. The only thing Grafton knows for sure is that he has been targeted for an assassination, and the conspiracy is clearly stamped: Made in America.

About The Author

Photo Credit:

Stephen Coonts is the author of innumerable New York Times bestsellers, the first of which was the classic flying tale, Flight of the Intruder. Coonts grew up in the coal-mining town of Buckhannon, West Virginia, and served as a pilot in the Navy. He still enjoys flying and tries to do as much of it as possible. Find out more at

Product Details

  • Publisher: Gallery Books (March 2, 2013)
  • Length: 432 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781476746449

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Stephen Coonts