Skip to Main Content

The Peculiar Life of a Lonely Postman

Translated by Liedewy Hawke
Published by Oneworld Publications
Distributed by Simon & Schuster

*Selected for Simon Mayo’s BBC Radio 2 Book Club*

'Quirky and charming' Guardian

For readers of The Hen Who Dreamed She Could Fly and The Guest Cat comes this passionate, bittersweet love story that will move readers old and young

Secretly steaming open envelopes and reading the letters inside, Bilodo has found an escape from his lonely and routine life as a postman. When one day he comes across a mysterious letter containing a single haiku, he finds himself avidly caught up in the relationship between a long-distance couple who write to each other using only beautiful poetry. He feasts on their words, vicariously living a life for which he longs. But it will only be a matter of time before his world comes crashing down around him.

‘Its republication could – and should – establish it as a lost and found gem.’

– The Independent, UK

'Enchanting, philosophically astute and deeply poignant.'

– John Burnside

'Quirky and charming with a well-executed denouement, this novella brings to mind nothing less than a giddily-lovesick Kafka.'

– Guardian

‘A captivating philosophical tale.’

– Le Devoir, Canada

‘A love story between two people who’ve never met, thanks to the magic of a deepening correspondence. In times of internet and social networking, Thériault succeeds in offering fine and spirited promotion for letters.’

– Le Figaro, France

'...an intense and very deep meaningful ending…I would recommend this book.'

– 'A Bibliophile’s Book Blog' review

More books from this author: Denis Thériault