Skip to Main Content

The Flood Disaster

About The Book

In this addition to the Iowa Children’s Choice Award nominated series, Warren and Betsy travel back to the Johnstown Flood of 1889 to save a survivor’s young sister and help fulfill her dreams.

Warren Spalding and Betsy Tyler have been assigned to do a paper on the Johnstown Flood of May 31, 1889. This time they’ve decided not to use the Instant Commuter time-travel device… It's just too dangerous. After all, they nearly died on two previous assignments.

Instead, they interview ninety-five-year-old Doc Keaton, whose parents survived the flood. But when they learn that Doc still mourns his little sister who died, Warren and Betsy secretly agree to travel back to 1889 to find eight-year-old Anna and save any lives they can.

About The Author

PEG KEHRET's popular novels for young people are regularly nominated for state awards. She has received the Young Hoosier Award, the Golden Sower Award, the Iowa Children's Choice Award, the Celebrate Literacy Award, the Sequoyah Award, the Land of Enchantment Award, the Maud Hart Lovelace Award, and the Pacific Northwest Young Reader's Choice Award. She lives with her husband, Carl, and their animal friends in Washington State, where she is a volunteer at the Humane Society and SPCA. Her two grown children and four grandchildren live in Washington, too.

Peg's Minstrel titles include Nightmare Mountain: Sisters, Long Ago; Cages; Terror at the Zoo; Horror at the Haunted House; and the Frightmares series.

Product Details

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Peg Kehret