The Fight for Lizzie Flowers

the perfect wartime family saga, set in the East End of London

LIST PRICE $9.99

About The Book

A heart-warming and nostalgic family saga set at the heart of wartime London, from the bestselling author of A Wartime Christmas. Perfect for fans of Sheila Newberry and Rosie Goodwin

'Surely one of the best saga writers of her time' - ROSIE CLARKE

Lizzie Flowers has had a hard life in the East End of London. In the bleak years after World War I, her family faced desperate times and deep tensions split them apart, but when barrow-boy Danny Flowers asked her to leave for a better life with him in Australia, she stayed true to her family's roots. Instead, she married Danny's brother Frank - a decision she came to bitterly regret.

When Frank dies suddenly, Lizzie is given the independence she'd always craved, and having found great success running the Flowers' greengrocer's, she has plans to expand the business. With the East End community supporting her, and the return of her true love Danny, back to marry her at last, Lizzie dares to believe she has finally found happiness. But as their wedding day dawns, an unwelcome guest arrives, and Lizzie fears her life will never be the same again . . .

'A gripping page turner' - LEAH FLEMING

'Brings the East End to life - family loyalties, warring characters and broken dreams. Superb' - ELIZABETH GILL

About The Author

Mother-of-three Carol Rivers, whose family comes from the Isle of Dogs, East London, now lives in Dorset. Visit www.carolrivers.com and follow her on Facebook and Twitter @carol_rivers

Product Details

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK (June 2015)
  • Length: 464 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781471131349

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Carol Rivers