The End of Gender

Debunking the Myths about Sex and Identity in Our Society

About The Book

International sex researcher, neuroscientist, and frequent contributor to The Globe and Mail (Toronto) Debra Soh debunks popular gender myths in this fascinating, research-based, scientific examination of the many facets of gender identity.

Is our gender something we’re born with or are we conditioned by society? In The End of Gender, neuroscientist and sexologist Dr. Debra Soh uses a research-based approach to address this hot-button topic, unmasking popular misconceptions about the nature vs. nurture debate, and exploring what it means to be a woman or a man in today’s society.

Both scientific and objective and drawing on original research and carefully conducted interviews, Soh tackles a wide-range of issues such as gender-neutral parenting, gender dysphoric children, and and the neuroscience of being transgender. She debates today’s accepted notion that gender is a social construct and a spectrum, and challenges the idea that there is no difference between how female and male brains operate.

The End of Gender is a conversation-starting work that will challenge what you thought you knew about gender, identity, and everything in between. Timely, informative, and provocative—perfect for readers of Steven Pinker and Christina Hoff Sommers—it will arm you with the facts you need to come to your own conclusions about gender identity and its place in the world today.

About The Author

Dr. Debra Soh is a neuroscientist who specializes in gender, sex, and sexual orientation. She received her doctorate from York University in Toronto and worked as an academic researcher for eleven years. Her writing has appeared in The Globe and Mail (Toronto), Harper’s Magazine, The Wall Street Journal, the Los Angeles Times, Playboy, Quillette, and many more publications. Her research has been published in academic journals including the Archives of Sexual Behavior and Frontiers in Human Neuroscience. As a journalist, Soh writes about the science and politics of human sexuality and gender, free speech, and censorship in academia. She lives in Toronto and divides her time between New York and Los Angeles. Follow her at @DrDebraSoh.

 

Product Details

  • Publisher: Threshold Editions (September 29, 2020)
  • Length: 320 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781982132514

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images