Skip to Main Content

The Eagle

Illustrated by Preston McDaniels



About The Book

Newbery Medalist Cynthia Rylant brings the peaceful sounds, sights, and characters of the coast vividly to life in the third book of the Lighthouse Family series, in which the family discovers the beauty of the forest.

In a lighthouse by the ocean, Seabold, a dog, and Pandora, a cat, live with their three little mice children, Whistler, Lila, and Tiny. One day, Lila and Whistler decide they want to investigate the mysterious forest that stands near their home. What adventures could be waiting between those trees? Brother and sister ask permission to go exploring and discover not only adventure and enchantment but also a new friend!


The Eagle

On a cliff far above the blue waters of the ocean there stood a solitary lighthouse, and in this lighthouse lived a family.

They were: Pandora, the cat; Seabold, the dog; and Whistler, Lila, and Tiny, three mouse children.

This family had not always been together. They once were scattered far and wide, and none had ever guessed they would find one another one day.

For many years Pandora had lived all alone at the lighthouse, bearing her loneliness so she might save others by keeping the light burning.

Seabold had been a sailor, steering his little boat Adventure across the waters of the world.

And the three children—Whistler, Lila, and Tiny—had lived within the walls of an orphanage, until the night they escaped to the sea.

But one day Seabold washed ashore in a storm and Pandora found him. Then Pandora and Seabold, in turn, found the children, lost and adrift in the ocean.

Thus these wanderers came together, made a home, and thereafter they were the lighthouse family.

Now it was fall. The children and Pandora and Seabold had enjoyed a lovely summer. Through the long days the children had collected rose petals and lavender, and now Pandora was kept busy each morning in the kitchen, making rose petal and lavender jellies for the winter table.

About The Author

Photograph courtesy of the author

Cynthia Rylant is the author of more than 100 books for young people, including the beloved Henry and Mudge, Annie and Snowball, Brownie & Pearl, Motor Mouse, and Mr. Putter & Tabby series. Her novel Missing May received the Newbery Medal. She lives in Portland, Oregon.

About The Illustrator

Preston McDaniels is the illustrator of the Phineas L. MacGuire series and Cynthia Rylant’s Lighthouse Family series. He lives in Aurora, Nebraska, with his wife and two daughters.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Beach Lane Books (July 1, 2004)
  • Length: 64 pages
  • ISBN13: 9780689862434
  • Grades: 1 - 5
  • Ages: 6 - 10
  • Lexile ® 630L The Lexile reading levels have been certified by the Lexile developer, MetaMetrics®
  • Fountas & Pinnell™ O These books have been officially leveled by using the F&P Text Level Gradient™ Leveling System

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Cynthia Rylant

More books from this illustrator: Preston McDaniels

More books in this series: Lighthouse Family