Skip to Main Content

The Dark Is Rising Sequence (Boxed Set)

Over Sea, Under Stone; The Dark Is Rising; Greenwitch; The Grey King; Silver on the Tree

Illustrated by Justin Hernandez



Free shipping when you spend $40. Terms apply.

Buy from Other Retailers

About The Book

All five books in Susan Cooper’s epic, bestselling, and Newbery Medal–winning The Dark Is Rising sequence are now available together in a paperback keepsake boxed set with a brand-new look!

Will Stanton’s ordinary life is shattered with the dreadful revelation that the Dark—the source of all evil—is rising in its last and greatest bid to control the world. He finds that he is no ordinary boy, but the last-born of the Old Ones, immortals dedicated to keeping mankind free from the Dark.

Soon Will is swept up in the great battle, along with his ageless master, Merriman; the three mortal Drew children with their own vital part to play; and a strange boy named Bran. These six servants of the Light fight fear and death in a quest through time and space interwoven with the most ancient myths of the islands of Britain—searching for the weapon that will ultimately vanquish the Dark.

This thrilling paperback collection includes:
Over Sea, Under Stone
The Dark Is Rising
The Grey King
Silver on the Tree

About The Author

Photograph © Tsar Fedorsky Photography 2013

Susan Cooper is one of our foremost fantasy authors; her classic five-book fantasy sequence The Dark Is Rising has sold millions of copies worldwide. Her books’ accolades include the Newbery Medal, a Newbery Honor, the Boston Globe–Horn Book Award, and five shortlists for the Carnegie Medal. She combines fantasy with history in Victory (a Washington Post Top Ten Books for Children pick), King of Shadows, Ghost Hawk, and her magical The Boggart and the Monster, second in a trilogy, which won the Scottish Arts Council’s Children’s Book Award. Susan Cooper lives on a saltmarsh island in Massachusetts, and you can visit her online at

About The Illustrator

Product Details

  • Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books (December 19, 2023)
  • Length: 1408 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781665935494
  • Grades: 3 - 7
  • Ages: 8 - 12

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Susan Cooper

More books in this series: The Dark Is Rising Sequence