Survival of the Thickest

LIST PRICE $26.00
PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

About The Book

From the stand-up comedian, actress, and podcast host beloved for her cheeky swagger, charismatic presence, and unapologetic frankness, comes a book of comedic essays for readers of The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl and You Can’t Touch My Hair.

If you’ve watched television or movies in the past year, you’ve seen Michelle Buteau. With scene-stealing roles in Always Be My Maybe, First Wives Club, Someone Great, Russian Doll, and Tales of the City; a breakthrough stand-up special on Netflix and two podcasts (Late Night Whenever and Adulting), Michelle’s star is on the rise. You’d be forgiven for thinking the road to success—or adulthood or financial stability or self-acceptance or marriage or motherhood—has been easy; but you’d be wrong.

Now, in Survival of the Thickest, Michelle reflects on growing up Caribbean and thick in New Jersey and what it feels like to have a full heart, tight jeans, and stardom finally in sight.

About The Author

Michelle Buteau is a comedian, actress, host, and podcaster known for her roles in Always Be My Maybe, First Wives Club, Someone Great, Russian Doll, and Tales of the City, as well as her stand-up specials on Netflix and Comedy Central. She has been named one of the ten comedians to watch by Esquire and her podcast, Late Night Whenever, was listed among the best of the year by Time. Michelle lives in the Bronx with her husband and family. She and her husband also run Van der Most Modern, a vintage furniture store in Brooklyn.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Gallery Books (August 4, 2020)
  • Length: 320 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781982122584

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images