About The Book

From the stand-up comedian, actress, and podcast host beloved for her cheeky swagger, dynamic presence, and unapologetic frankness, comes a book of comedic essays for fans of The Midsadventures of Awkward Black Girl and You Can’t Touch My Hair.

If you’ve watched Netflix in the past year, you’ve seen Michelle Buteau. With scene-stealing roles in Someone Great, Russian Dolls, Always Be My Maybe, Isn’t It Romantic, and more; appearances on Two Dope Queens; plus her own stand-up special and two podcasts—Late Night Whenever and Adulting—Michelle’s star is on the rise. You’d be forgiven for thinking the road to success—or adulthood or financial stability or self-acceptance or marriage or motherhood—has been easy; but you’d be wrong.

Now, in Survival of the Thickest, Michelle reflects on growing up brown and thick in New Jersey, starting stand-up just a few days after September 11, 2001, and what it feels like to have a full heart, tight jeans, and stardom finally in sight.

About The Author

Michelle Buteau is a stand-up comedian, actress, and podcaster. She has appeared in Someone Great, Russian Doll, Always Be My Maybe, Key & Peele, and more. She has been named one of the ten comedians to watch by Esquire and her podcast, Late Night Whenever, was listed among the best of the year by Time. She hosts the Adulting podcast with fellow comedian Jordan Carlos and lives in Brooklyn with her husband and family.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio (May 26, 2020)
  • Runtime: 8 hours
  • ISBN13: 9781797108339

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images