River of No Return

A Jake Trent Novel

LIST PRICE $12.99

About The Book

A Wyoming fishing guide must return to his investigative roots to find his best friend’s girlfriend in this “nonstop adventure and suspenseful page-turner that leaves the reader breathless” (Library Journal, starred review).

High season is coming to an end when Jake Trent, “a fishing guide with a shadowy past, is lured into an explosive situation” (Kirkus Reviews). As the ex-lawyer ponders rekindling his romance with park ranger Noelle Kimpton, a surprise call from a long-lost love throws his life into disarray. It’s been years since Jake last saw Divya Navaysam at their law school graduation. Now a DC lobbyist, Divya wants Jake to come to Washington for a consulting job. He books a ticket, wondering what she is keeping from him.

Meanwhile, back in Jackson, Jake’s best friend and occasional employee, J.P., is nursing his own romantic wounds. J.P. has fallen head over heels for Esma, but after a perfect summer together, she has returned to her native Mexico—and before long she drops off the grid completely. Has something terrible happened to her? When local police offer little help, a distraught J.P. turns to Jake. Jake must find Esma and manage a heated relationship with his ex-flame in order to solve the crisis.

David Riley Bertch’s second installment in the Jake Trent series is a rollicking thriller—with a twisting plotline involving immigration, overpopulation, dirty politicians, and international intrigue. This wide-ranging novel is a “vivid…breezy read” (Associated Press) with “a cast of characters to rival any political crime drama on television today” (Pittsburgh Post-Gazette).

About The Author

Photograph by

David Riley Bertsch, a native of Pittsburgh, graduated from Penn State and the University of Pittsburgh School of Law. Since 2009 he has lived in Jackson, Wyoming, where he is a professional fly-fishing guide. He is the author of Death Canyon and River of No Return.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Scribner (January 2015)
  • Length: 400 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781451698053

Raves and Reviews

Praise for the Jake Trent series:

"This story is so good, I'm not sure how Bertsch is going to top it. . . . What starts small blows up to world-ending proportions. . . . There is a long career ahead for this new writer."

– Killer Nashville

"Vivid scenery and a likable protagonist mark the second book in a series by David Riley Bertsch. . . . A breezy read with locales shifting from Jackson Hole to China, Washington, and Idaho . . . bright writing."

– Associated Press

"Bertsch skillfully twines the subplots and characters into a nonstop adventure and a suspenseful page-turner that leaves the reader breathless. This is a winner, especially for C.J. Box fans."

– Library Journal (starred review)

"Enthralling . . . You can enjoy River of No Return without first reading Death Canyon. In fact, you can enjoy River of No Return, period. It has a cast of characters to rival any political crime drama on television today . . ."

– Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

"A fishing guide with a shadowy past is lured into an explosive situation. . . A majestic setting, plenty of action and a scary look at the possibilities of new technologies."

– Kirkus

"Stacks up bodies faster than cordwood and deftly threads together an investigation like a premium hand-tied fly."

– Craig Johnson, New York Times-bestselling author of the Walt Longmire Mysteries

“Trent is convincing both as a man of action and as one of thought.”

– Publisher's Weekly

“Set in the beautiful Wyoming high country, Death Canyon introduces Jake Trent, a smart and savvy protagonist, in a twisting, turning, murderous tale that thriller readers will love."

– Michael McGarrity, New York Times-bestselling author of Hard Country

"A true thrill ride. Readers will definitely look forward to the next book in this series. From this first tale, it looks like Jake Trent will be the next in line for suspense/thriller readers to adore!"

– Suspense Magazine

“Shoots straight at the heart of America’s love affair with our national parks--and reminds us that beyond the tourist attractions lies true wilderness: vast, remote, and full of dangerous animals–especially the kind that walk on two legs. This is a harrowing journey into that world, written by an insider who knows where the tracks lead.”

– Neil McMahon, co-author with James Patterson of the #1 New York Times-bestseller Toys

"Bertsch is a talented writer who creates tangible, likable characters in Jake and Noelle; a steady stream of action; and lush descriptions of the Jackson Hole area . . ."

– Booklist

"All the elements of a successful thriller..... Bertsch has developed strong characters in Jake, Noelle and Police Chief Roger Terrell."

– Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

"If you enjoy Western mysteries, it is a must."

– Pinal County Reads

"River of No Return in fact offers considerable returns: brisk plotting and snappy chatter and characters worth hanging out with. David Riley Bertsch has nailed his Jake Trent world, and it's a fizzily entertaining one."

– Andrew Pyper, bestselling author of The Demonologist and The Damned

"Fans of C.J. Box and Nevada Barr will relish this new sleuth of the great outdoors. Adding to the appeal of this fresh series is Bertsch’s skillful depiction of the allure of the wide open spaces of the West and its regenerative powers for his characters. Adventure, current environmental issues, and love are all a part of the package."

– Library Journal (starred review)

“An interesting premise [in] a stunning location . . .”

– Kirkus

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: David Riley Bertsch