Skip to Main Content

About The Book

​In his signature his elegiac prose​, Rhino Ranch finds Larry McMurtry bidding a final farewell to his multi-book hero, Duane Moore, and the rapidly changing town of Thalia, Texas.

The town of Thalia, Texas has changed forever. By the end of When the Light Goes, Duane was already realizing how different his dusty old oil patch was becoming. Now, coming back from a near-fatal heart attack, it is nearly unrecognizable to him. Returning home to recover, Duane finds a new neighbor, K.K. Slater, a stubborn, tough, quirky billionairess, who also happens to have opened the Rhino Ranch—a preserve to save the black Rhino—on her property.

In the midst of a world to which he no longer belongs, in a town in which the land that used to reap oil now serves as a nature preserve, he watches the world change around him and begins to reflect on love affairs past and the missed opportunities he now regrets. Rhino Ranch is a bittersweet and fitting end to this iconic series, a tribute to all of the emotion, hilarity, whimsy, and poignancy that readers have followed across decades.

About The Author

Photo Credit: Diana Lynn Ossana

Larry McMurtry (1936–2021) was the author of twenty-nine novels, including the Pulitzer Prize–winning Lonesome Dove, three memoirs, two collections of essays, and more than thirty screenplays. He lived in Archer City, Texas.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster (June 1, 2010)
  • Length: 288 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781451606522

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

“A droll and poignant dramedy, Rhino Ranch is a near-perfect coda to the minor masterwork of Texas’s greatest novelist.”
Texas Monthly

“Nobody depicts the complexities of smalltown Texas life and the frailties of human relationships better than McMurtry.”—Publishers Weekly, starred review

“[Duane] and his friends in the fictional Texas town of Thalia made me laugh and nearly made me cry, and they made me think about life…”—Fort Worth Star-Telegram

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Larry McMurtry