Skip to Main Content
Published by Zaffre
Distributed by Simon & Schuster



Buy from Other Retailers

About The Book

A Courtney series adventure - Book 3 in The Burning Shore sequence


The year is 1952. Ruthlessly guided by Shasa Courtney and Centaine Malcomess, the Courtney family empire is central to the lives of both white and black South Africans alike. While Shasa, heir to the Courtney fortunes, dreams of uniting his divided, beloved country, Apartheid threatens to destroy everything he holds close. Out of options, his half-brother Manfred persuades him to join South Africa's right-wing National Party, hoping to moderate their dangerous policies from within.

But as the fires of revolution burn more intensely on the horizon, Manfred desperately tries to keep the secrets he cannot afford to be revealed secrets he is willing to kill to hide while, Shasa, in his bloody quest for power, will be tested in ways he could never imagine. When the terrible struggle for the future of South Africa is finally over, the Courtney family will never be the same and many will pay a terrible price . . .

Rage is the powerful third novel in Wilbur Smith’s The Burning Shore sequence, which became an instant global bestseller

About The Author

Wilbur Smith was born in Central Africa in 1933. He became a full-time writer in 1964 following the success of When the Lion Feeds, and has since published over fifty global bestsellers, including the Courtney Series, the Ballantyne Series, the Egyptian Series, the Hector Cross Series and many successful standalone novels, all meticulously researched on his numerous expeditions worldwide. An international phenomenon, his readership built up over fifty-five years of writing, establishing him as one of the most successful and impressive brand authors in the world.
The establishment of the Wilbur & Niso Smith Foundation in 2015 cemented Wilbur's passion for empowering writers, promoting literacy and advancing adventure writing as a genre. The foundation's flagship programme is the Wilbur Smith Adventure Writing Prize.

Wilbur Smith passed away peacefully at home in 2021 with his wife, Niso, by his side, leaving behind him a rich treasure-trove of novels and stories that will delight readers for years to come. For all the latest information on Wilbur Smith's writing visit or

Product Details

  • Publisher: Zaffre (June 5, 2018)
  • Length: 897 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781499860764

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Wilbur Smith

More books in this series: The Courtney Series: The Burning Shore Sequence