Skip to Main Content

Quinnelope and the Cookie King Catastrophe Vol. 1

Book #1 of Quinnelope
Published by Oni Press
Distributed by Simon & Schuster

LIST PRICE $14.99

PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

Buy from Other Retailers

About The Book

Investigators meets Dog Man in this hysterically funny and refreshingly imaginative middle grade graphic novel series from debut creators HF Brownfield and Kayla Coombs.

Quinnelope wakes up one morning to learn all the cookies in her kingdom have gone missing. Dun dun DuUuuUUuUUUnNN!!!! The bakery and grocery store aisles are full of cakes but NO COOKIES. What is a cookie-obsessed queen supposed to do?! Solve the mystery of the cookie catastrophe, of course! Along with her dutiful butler, Bub, and loyal companion, Star, the trio set out on a mission to find the missing cookies and restore these tasty treats to Pleasant Towne once again.

But their quest isn’t as easy as it sounds. Womp-wompppp. They’ll need to battle through a cookie-dough volcano, confront the chocolate chipmunk mountain, face off against egg-splosive enemies, and more in order to track down the missing Cookie King. Will Quinnelope be able to bring the Cookie King and his delicious cookies back to her kingdom, or will she be doomed to eat crummy cakes forever? Find out in this hilarious and colorful debut graphic novel series perfect for fans of Investigators and Dog Man!

About The Authors

HF Brownfield is a curious human, storyteller, illustrator, and parent of three extraordinary offspring. Once upon a time, Brownfield earned a bachelor’s degree in secondary education. Since then, their career has taken many surprising twists and turns to places like the coffee world, technology, and marketing. When they aren’t writing books, they work in the financial industry and are always scanning the world for creative inspiration (a practice which makes board room meetings exceptionally exciting). Brownfield is often found roaming green fields, purple fields, and brown fields in the Pacific Northwest with their kids, partner, and fur babies. They're determined to find Sasquatch one day, but so far he’s still winning at hide and seek. Their hobbies include consuming good coffee and embarrassing their children with the silliest dad jokes ever written.

When Kayla Coombs was a kid, she spent hours dreaming up cartoon characters and scribbling stories with crayons. Since then, her artwork has received starred reviews from the BBC, the Kelly Clarkson Show, People magazine, the Webby Awards, and more. Her childhood comics have evolved into a creative career spanning animation, picture books, graphic novels, illustration, and merchandise design. Kayla lives and creates on Wurundjeri land in Melbourne, Australia. She can usually be found rollerskating around her home studio with a pencil in one hand and a cup of tea in the other. Proudly committed to exploring themes of diversity, empowerment, and inclusivity, her stories bring joy to millions of children and adults around the world. You can visit her online at kaylacoombs.com.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Oni Press (September 19, 2023)
  • Length: 256 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781637152348
  • Ages: 8 - 12

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

From School Library Journal

Gr 2-4–Quinnelope has a hankering for some cookies, but when the Cookie King goes missing, it’s up to her and her friends to save the king and bring the cookies back. But what starts out as a simple, “by the numbers” concept quickly turns into an epic adventure that’s refreshing and downright hilarious. Although Brownfield and Coombs throw in the occasional corny reference or potty humor, most of the book feels original and genuinely funny, which will certainly help it stand out with kids. A light tone and high energy stay consistent throughout, and while the focus is Quinnelope, all the characters are given a moment to shine while also allowing the antagonists time to redeem themselves and resolve conflict in earned ways. The art style blends kawaii anime energy with the folky simplicity of Adventure Time’s character and environment creation. The large frames and blown-up pictures pair well with the font, making this a great resource for struggling or reluctant readers. VERDICT A series to watch develop, for sure. –Peter Blenski

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books in this series: Quinnelope