Once Upon a Sunset

LIST PRICE $11.99
PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

About The Book

The author of The Key to Happily Ever After—“a true gem filled with heart, laughs, and a cast of delightful characters” (Nina Bocci, USA TODAY bestselling author)—returns with a heartwarming and charming novel about a woman who travels to the Philippines to reconnect with her long-lost family…and manages to find herself along the way.

Diana Gallagher-Cary is at a tipping point. As a Washington, DC, OB/GYN at a prestigious hospital, she uses her career to distract herself from her grief over her granny’s death and her breakup from her long-term boyfriend after her free-spirited mother moves in with her. But when she makes a medical decision that disparages the hospital, she is forced to go on a short sabbatical.

Never one to wallow, Diana decides to use the break to put order in her life, when her mother, Margo, stumbles upon a box of letters from her grandfather, Antonio Cruz, to her grandmother from the 1940s. The two women always believed that Antonio died in World War II, but the letters reveal otherwise. When they learn that he lived through the war, and that they have surviving relatives in the Philippines, Diana becomes determined to connect with the family that she never knew existed, though Margo refuses to face her history. But Diana pushes on, and heads on a once-in-a-lifetime trip that challenges her identity, family history, and her idea of romantic love that could change her life forever.

Infused with Tif Marcelo’s signature “sexy, adorable, and heartfelt” (Kate Meader, USA TODAY bestselling author) voice, Once Upon a Sunset is a moving and lyrical celebration of love, family, and second chances.

About The Author

Franchesca Cole

Tif Marcelo is a veteran army nurse and holds a Bachelor of Science in Nursing and a Master of Public Administration. She believes and writes about the strength of families, the endurance of friendship, heartfelt romances, and is inspired daily by her own military hero husband and four children. She is also the author of The Key to Happily Ever After and the Journey to the Heart series.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Gallery Books (March 3, 2020)
  • Length: 352 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781982115944

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

Praise for Once Upon a Sunset

"Once Upon a Sunset will sweep readers up in a heartfelt story of long-lost family secrets and bright new beginnings that spans from World War II to today. I always look forward to a new book from Tif Marcelo!"

– Julia Kelly, bestselling author of The Light Over London

Praise for The Key to Happily Ever After

"A charming, fun read. I love these sisters! Clear your calendar--once you start, you won't be able to put down this wonderful story."

– Susan Mallery, # 1 New York Times bestselling author of California Girls

"The de la Rosa sisters are much like the flower in their name: delicate and poised but also fiercely strong. As the trio takes over the family wedding planning business, they will need all those traits and more to transform their careers for a new generation. As they forge their paths both together and separately, these three sisters discover that love—like a wedding—is all about timing. Full of wisdom, wit and, of course, wedding gowns, Tif Marcelo’s latest charmer proves that, sometimes, The Key to Happily Ever After, comes along when you least expect it. This endearing, deeply poignant trip down the aisle(s) is full of romance, unexpected twists and the perfect helping of family drama."

– Kristy Woodson Harvey, author of The Southern Side of Paradise

“A beautiful story about the bonds of family and the challenges of love –I was cheering for all the de la Rosa sisters!” 

– Jennifer Probst, New York Times bestselling author of All or Nothing at All

"The Key to Happily Ever After gave me so many emotions: I loved and cheered for all three sisters, and wanted to shake each of them in turn; I swooned for all of the romance; and I got choked up about their struggles and their victories. But mostly, I loved the de la Rosa sisters so much, and I can’t wait for the whole world to love them." 

– Jasmine Guillory, New York Times bestselling author of The Proposal

“Devoted sisters, swoony new loves, and wedding drama—what more could you ask for in a perfect summer read? The Key to Happily Ever After delivers it all with Tif Marcelo’s enchanting prose. By the end, you’ll want to be a de la Rosa sister, too!"

– Amy E. Reichert, author of The Coincidence of Coconut Cake

"This is the most aptly titled romance. A true gem filled with heart, laughs and a cast of delightful characters. I read (and adored) The Key to Happily Ever After in one sitting!" 

– Nina Bocci, USA Today bestselling author of On the Corner of Love and Hate

"Marcelo movingly portrays sisters who love each other to death but also drive each other crazy. Give this to readers who like Susan Mallery's portrayal of complicated sisters, or Jasmine Guillory's sweet, food-focused city settings.”

– Booklist

“This sweet family story/romance will appeal to fans of Susan Mallery and RaeAnne Thayne. Especially suitable for public libraries looking for more #ownvoices authors.”

– Library Journal

“Marcelo charms in this feel-good story… The layered plot, which includes a dark period in Mari’s past that places roadblock to finding love in the present, and the cast of colorful supporting characters, particularly sassy shop seamstress Amelia, are a treat. Fans of Jill Shalvis and Jane Green will particularly enjoy this.”

– Publishers Weekly

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Tif Marcelo