Skip to Main Content



About The Book

In the fourteenth novel in the British mystery series from the Silver Dagger award-winning author Dorothy Simpson, “a modern-day version of Agatha Christie” (Booklist), Inspector Luke Thanet has a both murder and a wedding on his hands.

Newspaper reporter Jessica Manifest’s questionable death takes Inspector Luke Thanet away from his daughter’s wedding preparations to investigate the victim’s supposedly accidental death. As he delves into her secretive past, he realizes that there are many people with motives for murdering her. “Thanet's investigation proceeds with satisfying depth…Simpson tailors her plot with skill and care, nicely dovetailing all the clues and reserving a special twist for the end” (Library Journal).

About The Author

Dorothy Simpson was born in South Wales and went to Bristol University, where she studied languages before moving to Kent, the setting for her Inspector Thanet mystery novels. She is the winner of a Silver Dagger Award from the Crime Writers’ Association of Great Britain.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Scribner (May 21, 2016)
  • Length: 224 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781501153754

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Dorothy Simpson