Skip to Main Content

In this compelling and addictive novel set in the same universe as the critically acclaimed White Space series and perfect for fans of Karen Traviss and Ada Hoffman, a space station begins to unravel when a routine search and rescue mission returns after going dangerously awry.

Meet Doctor Jens.

She hasn’t had a decent cup of coffee in fifteen years. Her workday begins when she jumps out of perfectly good space ships and continues with developing treatments for sick alien species she’s never seen before. She loves her life. Even without the coffee.

But Dr. Jens is about to discover an astonishing mystery: two ships, one ancient and one new, locked in a deadly embrace. The crew is suffering from an unknown ailment and the shipmind is trapped in an inadequate body, much of her memory pared away.

Unfortunately, Dr. Jens can’t resist a mystery and she begins doing some digging. She has no idea that she’s about to discover horrifying and life-changing truths.

Written in Elizabeth Bear’s signature “rollicking, suspenseful, and sentimental” (Publishers Weekly) style, Machine is a fresh and electrifying space opera that you won’t be able to put down.

Kyle Cassidy

Elizabeth Bear won the John W. Campbell award for Best New Writer in 2005 and has since published fifteen novels and numerous short stories. She writes in both the science fiction and fantasy genres and has won critical acclaim in both. She has won the Hugo Award more than once. She lives in Massachusetts. Visit her on Twitter @Matociquala.

"Narrator Adjoa Andoh is a true storyteller. She has a natural, engaging manner as Dr. Jens, a trauma rescue specialist who tends to people, aliens, and androids. When the doctor is confronted with more than 10,000 humans who have been in cryogenic suspension for 600 years, the situation raises a lot of questions. Andoh depicts Dr. Jen as a person who creates a fast rapport with her patients and colleagues. Listeners will also find Andoh's portrayal compelling as the doctor is in chronic pain and frequently muses on her past and her hope for the future. This second installment in Bear's White Space series is not a direct sequel and easily stands on its own, although a couple of characters reappear in minor roles."

– AudioFile Magazine

More books from this author: Elizabeth Bear

More books from this reader: Adjoa Andoh

More books in this series: White Space