Skip to Main Content

Lusaka Punk and Other Stories

The Caine Prize for African Writing 2015

Published by Interlink Books
Distributed by Simon & Schuster



Free shipping when you spend $40. Terms apply.

Buy from Other Retailers

About The Book

Now entering its sixteenth year, the Caine Prize for African Writing is Africa’s leading literary prize, and is awarded to a short story by an African writer published in English, whether in Africa or elsewhere. This collection brings together eighteen short stories—the five 2015 shortlisted stories, along with stories written at the 2015 Caine Prize Writers’ Workshop that took place in Ghana. The collection showcases young writers who go on to publish successful novels, for instance: Leila Aboulela, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Sefi Atta, Brian Chikwava and Helon Habila. The shortlisted writers include Segun Afolabi (Nigeria), Caine Prize winner in 2005; Elnathan John (Nigeria), who was shortlisted in 2013; F. T. Kola (South Africa); Masande Ntshanga (South Africa); and Namwali Serpell (Zambia), who was shortlisted in 2010. The 2015 Caine Prize workshop participants included Diane Awerbuck (South Africa) and Efemia Chela (Zambia/Ghana) who were shortlisted for the 2014 prize, Onipede Hollist (Sierra Leona) who was shortlisted in 2013, and nine other promising writers: Dalle Abraham (Kenya), Nkiacha Atemnkeng (Cameroon), Akwaeke Emezi (Nigeria), Timothy Kiprop Kimutai (Kenya), Jonathan Mbuna (Malawi), and Jonathan Dotse, Jemila Abdulai, Aisha Nelson and Nana Nyarko Boateng (Ghana). Chair of judges, Zoë Wicomb described the shortlist as, “an exciting crop of well-crafted stories.?.. Unforgettable characters, drawn with insight and humour, inhabit works ranging from classical story structures to a haunting, enigmatic narrative that challenges the conventions of the genre.” She added, "Understatement and the unspoken prevail: hints of an orphan’s identity bring poignant understanding of his world; the reader is slowly and expertly guided to awareness of a narrator’s blindness; there is delicate allusion to homosexual love; a disfigured human body is encountered in relation to adolescent escapades; a nameless wife’s insecurities barely mask her understanding of injustice; and, we are given a flash of insight into dark passions that rise out of a surreal resistance culture. Above all, these stories speak of the pleasure of reading fiction.”

About The Author

Dr. Lizzy Attree is co-founder of the Mabati-Cornell Kiswahili Prize for African Literature. She has a PhD from SOAS, University of London, and she is the author of Blood on the Page (Cambridge Scholars Publishing, 2010), a collection of interviews with the first African writers from Zimbabwe and South Africa to write about HIV and AIDS. She is a director on the board of Short Story Day Africa and was director of the Caine Prize from 2014 to 2018. She also sits on the board of Writivism, which is part of the Centre for African Cultural Excellence (CACE). In 2015, she taught African literature at Kings College London, and she will teach world literature at Richmond, the American International University in London, in the autumn. She has just completed an Arts Council–funded project on African footballers at Chelsea and Arsenal, and her associated anthology of poems, Thinking Outside the Penalty Box, was published by the Poetry Society.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Interlink Books (September 30, 2015)
  • Length: 240 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781566560740

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

"Africa's most important literary award."

"Entertaining... Deserves to be widely read."

"It provokes and challenges."

"Dazzling and splendidly diverse"

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Lizzy Attree