Lake of Tears

A Claire Watkins Mystery

LIST PRICE $16.99

About The Book

"Logue writes beautifully about rural Minnesota life while telling a good mystery. For fans of J.A. Jance and Margaret Maron." --Library Journal

Deputy Sheriff Claire Watkins has had an easy summer in Fort St. Antoine, Wisconsin; the only problem is that her daughter Meg is leaving for college soon. When Claire walks down to the park to watch the Burning Boat--a large replica of a Norwegian longboat set on the shores of Lake Pepin, burned at the autumnal equinox--she has no idea that more than just a wooden structure is going up in flames.

The next day, the bones of a young woman are found in the ashes. When Claire learns that the new deputy she has hired, a vet returning from Afghanistan, was the young woman's former boyfriend, and that he is now dating her daughter Meg, she is desperate to find out who is responsible for the death.

In order to get to the heart of this mystery, Claire must understand what happened in an attack in the mountains of Afghanistan, which left one man wounded, one man killed, and one man disturbed. Could one of those two remaining men be the killer?

Product Details

  • Publisher: Gallery Books (January 1, 2014)
  • Length: 208 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781440571510

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

"The latest from Logue is a tense psychological mystery, compulsively readable, that...offers up some surprising twists." --Kirkus Reviews

"Logue effectively deepens her well-plotted, small-town mystery with a sensitive look at the issues faced by returning veterans." --Booklist

"This novel is packed with strong human emotions.... Her writing is clear and she moves quickly and incisively though the procedural, but not without compassion and deep appreciation of life-changing experiences." --Bookpleasures

"Logue is a smart, seasoned writer and...her ninth book...is one of the most absorbing in the series." --Star Tribune

"A satisfying read. It manages to raise serious issues in a realistic way while being, in the end, quietly reassuring." --Reviewing the Evidence

"Well-written, emotional characters with subplots that make them seem very much like flesh-and-blood people, this author offers up a terrific mystery." --Suspense Magazine

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Mary Logue