Skip to Main Content

Heathen, Vol. 3

Part of Heathen
Illustrated by Ashley A. Woods / Letterer Morgan Martinez
Published by Vault Comics
Distributed by Simon & Schuster



Buy from Other Retailers

About The Book

End Odin's reign and smash the patriarchy - lesbian viking style!

A YALSA 2018 Great Graphic Novels for Teens pick!


After a perilous journey across the northern sea, Aydis has reached the godlands.But her mortal deeds have invited Odin's wrath. With the help of sneaky friends old and new and skeptical trolls, she’ll finally confront the corrupt god-king Odin face-to-face. Meanwhile, his army marches toward her home intent on destruction, where her friends and family prepare for a final battle.

Aydis is a viking, a warrior, an outcast, and a self-proclaimed heathen. Aydis is friend to the talking horse Saga, rescuer of the immortal Valkyrie Brynhild, and battler of demons and fantastic monsters. Aydis is a woman. Born into a time of warfare, suffering, and subjugation of women, she is on a mission to end the oppressive reign of the god-king Odin.

Read the entire series!
Volume 1 collects issues #1 - #4 of the twelve issue series.
Volume 2 collects issues #5 - #8 pf the 12 issue series
Volume 3 collects issues #9 - #12 of the 12 issue series

For fans of Monstress (Marjorie Liu & Sana Takeda), Helheim (Cullen Bunn, Joelle Jones, Nick Filardi), and Northlanders (Brian Wood)

"Heathen ...remains one of the best comics on the stands... I just want to spend more time in this world, and really, isn't that the reaction you should have to art?" -- IGN

"Alterici's innovative saga - about a queer Viking woman who is exiled for her sexuality and reacts by declaring war on Odin himself - initially came out in digital form only. Now, interested readers can catch up on the story's beginning in one place with its first trade collection." -- Entertainment Weekly

"The series operates on two levels: It's a sweeping Nordic fantasy, but it's also a personal story about coming out and coming of age in a culture that doesn't accept who you truly are. The intersection of those two narrative planes is what makes Heathen so engrossing, and the grander elements of the plot have more emotional impact because they are tied to Aydis' queer awakening. -- The AV Club

"Hot take alert: Natasha Alterici is the real deal." -- Comic Bastards

"Alterici is that rarest of comic writers whose sense of story and pacing is equal to her tremendous artistic skill." -- Bitch Media

About The Author

Natasha Alterici is a writer and artist living in Tulsa, Oklahoma who has been working as a freelance artist for nearly ten years. Works include Heathen (Vault Comics), Dinosaur Project, Gotham Academy: Yearbook, Grayson Annual, The Lez Film Review, Mixed Signals, Lovers and Other Strangers, Transcience and number of others. When not drawing, she enjoys watching cooking shows with her wife and their two cats, Cheshire and Louise.

About The Illustrator

Ashley A. Woods is a comic book artist, writer, & creator from Chicago known for her work on the "Niobe", "Ladycastle" and "Tomb Raider" series. She got her start through self-publishing her action-fantasy comic series “Millennia War” which led to her career in comics and TV.
After earning her degree in Film and Animation from IADT, she traveled to Kyoto, Japan where she presented her work in a gallery showcase called, “Out Of Sequence”.
Recognized for her female illustrations and designs, her most prominent work is "Niobe: She is Life" with Stranger Comics.
Her latest work can be seen on HBO's "Lovecraft Country", DC’s “Wonder Woman Black & Gold 2” and "Jupiter Invincible" with Pulitzer Prize winning author Yusef Komunyakaa which premiered at the Tribeca Film Festival June 2021.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Vault Comics (September 22, 2020)
  • Length: 112 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781939424662
  • Grades: 10 - 17
  • Ages: 13 - 18

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Natasha Alterici

More books from this illustrator: Ashley A. Woods

More books in this series: Heathen