Skip to Main Content

Haven

The Aftermath Book Two

Published by Solaris
Distributed by Simon & Schuster

About The Book

A stunning, post-apocalyptic vision of the future as humanity strives to rebuild civilisation in a world ravaged by climate change.

Young Forktongue Davy has visions; epilepsy, his Ma calls it. He's barely able to help around the family farm. But something about the lad is attracting attention: the menacing stranger who might be the angel of death himself; the women-only community at Wycombe; Daniel, sent by the mysterious Guz. They all want Davy for their own reasons. But what use can he be to anyone? He has visions of flight, but how can flight ever be possible in this shattered world? A simple farmboy, caught up in events beyond his power to control-but his visions may be the key to the future.

About The Author

Adam Roberts was born in London two thirds of the way through the last century. He currently lives a little way west of London and teaches English and Creative Writing at Royal Holloway, University of London. He is the author of sixteen SF novels, including New Model Army (Gollancz, 2010), Jack Glass (2012)-winner of the BSFA and Campbell awards-and Bete (2014). His most recent novel is The Thing Itself (2015). He is also the author of various works of literary criticism and review, including the recently expanded and updated History of Science Fiction (Palgrave, 2016)

Product Details

  • Publisher: Solaris (August 16, 2022)
  • Length: 304 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781786186485

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

"If Hutchinson’s novel presented the idea that the true catastrophe is the human propensity for violence, Roberts explores the necessary stub­bornness and persistence that ordinary people need if they are to survive in such brutal times. -- Paul Kincaid, Locus

"I loved Roberts’s attention to fine detail, and his ability to spin a compelling yarn out of tiny pieces ... His prose is delightful; I particularly enjoyed the clever word play and humour, lightening the inherent bleakness of this post-apocalyptic England." -- THERE'S ALWAYS ROOM FOR ONE MORE…

'The king of high-concept SF'-- GUARDIAN

"A witty, bittersweet and near-perfectly executed novel that's possibly Robert's best book to date." ? SFX MAGAZINE on By the Pricking of Her Thumb

"Adam Roberts is very good at spinning weird crime tales... this is one to watch out for." ? STARBURST on By the Pricking of Her Thumb

"In the tradition of Swift, Orwell and Atwood" -- THE TIMES on By Light Alone

"Firefights and philosophy alike are couched in prose of unflagging pace." -- James Lovegrove, FINANCIAL TIMES on New Model Army 

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Adam Roberts