Skip to Main Content

Emmy Award–winning writer Sara Schaefer’s hilariously honest memoir follows her “on this wild river descent into the Grand Canyon and her own secret family history. This is a Class 1000 Rapids of a memoir and I urge you to take the ride” (John Hodgman, author of Vacationland). Perfect for fans of Let’s Pretend This Never Happened.

When Sara Schaefer is in first grade, her father warns her to always tell the truth because one lie leads to another and soon you will find yourself in a hole you can’t escape. A few years later, the Schaefer family is completely upended when it’s revealed that their grand life is based on a lie. Her parents become pariahs in their upper middle class community and go from non-religious people to devout church members. The idea of good and evil as binary, opposed forces is a lesson she never forgets.

The year she turns forty, Sara decides to take each member of her family on a one-on-one vacation culminating with a whitewater rafting journey through the Grand Canyon with her sister. The only problem is she’s terrified of rafting. Along the way, she grapples with unresolved grief over the death of her mother and the family scandal that changed the trajectory of her life.

“Funny, sweet, heartbreaking, vulnerable, and powerfully written” (Moshe Kasher, author of Kasher in the Rye), Grand is “a wise, funny acknowledgment that we are not always in control—and that growth is most likely to happen when we let go” (BookPage).

Photograph by Kim Newmoney

Sara Schaefer is an Emmy Award-winning writer-producer and stand-up comedian. She cohosted MTV’s late-night show Nikki & Sara Live and has appeared on Comedy Central Stand-Up PresentsJohn Oliver’s New York Stand-up Show, and Late Night with Jimmy Fallon. She has written for numerous TV shows, including The Fake News with Ted NelmsProblematic with Moshe Kasher, and The Kennedy Center Mark Twain Prize for American Humor. She lives in Los Angeles.

Photograph by Kim Newmoney

Sara Schaefer is an Emmy Award-winning writer-producer and stand-up comedian. She cohosted MTV’s late-night show Nikki & Sara Live and has appeared on Comedy Central Stand-Up PresentsJohn Oliver’s New York Stand-up Show, and Late Night with Jimmy Fallon. She has written for numerous TV shows, including The Fake News with Ted NelmsProblematic with Moshe Kasher, and The Kennedy Center Mark Twain Prize for American Humor. She lives in Los Angeles.