Skip to Main Content

“A joyous, exuberantly fun-filled novel of second chances. An absolute delight from start to finish!” —Sarah Haywood, New York Times bestselling author

“Bracing, hilarious, warm, this novel is as wayward and mad as the human heart.” Judy Blundell, New York Times bestselling author

A hilarious and heartfelt debut novel following three generations of a boisterous Irish family whose simmering tensions boil over when an American home aide enters the picture, becoming the calamitous force that will either undo or remake this family—perfect for fans of Where’d You Go, Bernadette and Evvie Drake Starts Over.

When Kevin Gogarty’s irrepressible eighty-three-year-old mother, Millie, is caught shoplifting yet again, he has no choice but to hire a caretaker to keep an eye on her. Kevin, recently unemployed, is already at his wits’ end tending to a full house while his wife travels to exotic locales for work, leaving him solo with his sulky, misbehaved teenaged daughter, Aideen, whose troubles escalate when she befriends the campus rebel at her new boarding school.

Into the Gogarty fray steps Sylvia, Millie’s upbeat American home aide, who appears at first to be their saving grace—until she catapults the Gogarty clan into their greatest crisis yet.

With charm, humor, and pathos to spare, Good Eggs is a delightful study in self-determination; the notion that it’s never too late to start living; and the unique redemption that family, despite its maddening flaws, can offer.

Photograph by Ron Holtz Studio

Rebecca Hardiman is a former magazine editor who lives in New Jersey with her husband and three children. Good Eggs is her first novel.

“This book had me at the title! I dare you not to be charmed by this hilarious and heartfelt adventure story following three generations of a delightfully rowdy, boisterous Irish family. I am in love with the whole trio, but the shining star by far is the grandmother, an eighty-three-year-old firecracker named Millie who deserves her own one-woman show. If you loved A Man Called Ove, Evvie Drake Starts Over, or Where'd You Go, Bernadette, take a chance on Good Eggsit is precisely the buoyant, life-affirming read we need.” Daniella W., Editor, on Good Eggs

"Good Eggs is a remarkably clear-eyed and surefooted debut; pure, unadulterated reading pleasure. Hardiman writes with great warmth, humor, and incisiveness about reinvention and the unique foibles of family." —JONATHAN EVISON, author of This Is Your Life, Harriet Chance! and The Revised Fundamentals of Caregiving

"Good Eggs is a joyous, exuberantly fun-filled novel of second chances. In the Gogartys, Rebecca Hardiman has created a vivid cast of characters whose schemes, adventures and mishaps keep us on the edges of our seats. We can’t help but cheer each of them onespecially the exasperating and beguilingly naughty Millie Gogartyas they untangle the various muddles in which they find themselves. With all their quirks and flaws, this is a family that earns a place in our hearts. An absolute delight from start to finish!" —SARAH HAYWOODNew York Times bestselling author of The Cactus

"Bracing, hilarious, warm, this novel is as wayward and mad as the human heart. Hardiman takes elements I thought I knew—the sulky teen jealous of the pretty sister, the dotty grandmother, the house-husband succumbing to temptation—and takes a left turn, every time. You just want to pull up a chair to this novel, if you know what I mean. An absolute delight." JUDY BLUNDELL, New York Times bestselling author of The High Season