Skip to Main Content

Buddhas of the Celestial Gallery

In the tradition of Celestial Gallery and Goddesses of the Celestial Gallery, Romio Shrestha’s latest large-format art book gathers striking Tibetan-style mandala paintings featuring the Buddha. Each book is hand-bound and two-feet tall, with artwork from master painter Romio Shrestha and his team of artisan monks, who render postmodern interpretations of an age-old Tibetan artistic tradition. Made from malachite, lapis, and marigolds, and painted at times with three hairs of a cat’s tail, these paintings are produced in hauntingly powerful detail.

Romio Shrestha is a modern master of the Indo-Nepali-Tibetan Buddhist traditions of enlightenment art, and his thangkas can be found in many of the great collections of the world, including the British Museum, the Victoria Albert Museum, the Buchheim Museum, the American Museum of Natural History, the Tibet House in New York City, and the Newark Museum in New Jersey. He directs a school of artist-craftsmen in the Kathmandu Valley of Tibet.

More books from this author: Romio Shrestha