Skip to Main Content

Breaking

Published by Canelo US
Distributed by Simon & Schuster

LIST PRICE $9.99

PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

Buy from Other Retailers

About The Book

A vacation in the Florida Keys turns suspicious when an 8-year-old child goes missing. It’s every family’s worst fear, and the story has just begun.

On a sun-hazed afternoon in the Florida Keys, a child goes missing from the beach, and Dr. Mirren Fitzpatrick appeals to the world to help find her daughter. But before police are even on the scene, there are ripples of mistrust. Mirren was drinking at a bar—alone—when her youngest child went missing. Detective Rolle is sympathetic and believes Mirren's claim of innocence when she says someone must have taken Alannah, but his boss is unconvinced. As rumors swirl about Mirren’s past, a trial-by-media ensues, and she is turned from a sympathetic figure to the villain. As the international press descend on the small island community, everyone is asking the same question: what did Mirren do before eight-year-old Alannah Fitzpatrick vanished without a trace?

A stunning debut from a brilliant new voice in Irish crime fiction, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn and Lucy Atkins.

About The Author

Amanda Cassidy is a freelance journalist, commissioning editor, and former Sky News reporter. Shortlisted for the Irish Journalist of the Year Awards, and more recently the Headline Media writing awards, her features have been read by more than 7 million people, and she has several thousand followers on Twitter (@amandacassidy). When she's not on a plane, you'll find her in her cottage in Dublin, where she lives with her husband and three young children.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Canelo US (June 20, 2023)
  • Length: 304 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781667205281

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

A contender for thriller of the year. Breaking dazzles from the opening line. Powerful, sharp and moving, with an ending that flabbergasts.

– Glenn Meade, author of "Unquiet Ghosts"

Wonderfully compelling and at times, painfully sharp. This is a beautifully constructed and beguiling debut novel.

– Andrea Mara, author of "All Her Fault"

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images