Skip to Main Content

Attack of the Killer Komodos

Perfect for fans of Stranger Things and The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl, this exciting second book in the Maggie and Nate Mystery series follows the friends to Yellowstone National Park where they must track down a deadly creature amidst a series of natural disasters.

Having rescued her town from zombifying mutant mushrooms, eleven-year-old Magnolia Stone is ready for her next adventure! Maggie and her best friend, Nate, head to Yellowstone National Park to visit Maggie’s park ranger dad. But when the kids bump into a rogue Komodo dragon, a dangerous predator that shouldn’t even be in the park, and a major earthquake leaves Maggie and Nate stranded, they set off to figure out what’s going on and to reunite Maggie’s family once again.

While Maggie comes up with scientific solutions as they battle earthquakes, landslides, wolves, and other unusual creatures, Nate focuses on conspiracy theories and getting stellar footage for his YouTube channel. But only by combining their skills will they have any hope of saving Yellowstone or each other.

Photograph by Bryan Cole

Summer Rachel Short lives in north Texas with her husband, three kids, and their Maine Coon cat, Emme. Before spinning tales about mutant mushrooms, she worked as a science reporter for her university’s newspaper, where she wrote on topics including nanotech tweezers, poultry farm pollution, and the nighttime habits of spiders and snakes. Summer can often be found exploring new places with her family and dreaming up ideas for her next book. Learn more at SRachelShort.com.

More books from this author: Summer Rachel Short

More books in this series: A Maggie and Nate Mystery