Angel of the North

Who will help a nurse in war? A heart-wrenching family saga about hope during WWII

About The Book

A gripping and heart-wrenching family saga about ordinary people facing extraordinary challenges, Angel of the North, is perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Margaret Dickinson.

AS WAR THREATENS HER FAMILY, WHO WILL BE LEFT FOR A YOUNG NURSE TO TURN TO?


April 1941, Hull

As WWII rages on and the Germans continue to bomb the city, Nurse Marie Larsen faces the daily challenge of keeping Hull Royal Infirmary running. But with sudden power cuts, blown out windows and wounded civilians pouring into the hospital after each new attack, she begins to fear that the next bomb might have her name on it . . .

When a fresh wave of bombings tears Hull apart, tragedy strikes close to home for Marie. Her mother now critically ill in hospital and her father missing, she is forced to make tough decisions to keep her younger brother and sister safe. Luckily for Marie, she has the love of her beau Chas to help her through, keeping her spirits up with his letters and phone calls from his post. But when new evidence come to light that suggests Chas isn't all he appears to be, will there be anyone left for Marie turn to in her hour of need?

 

About The Author

The daughter of a Durham miner, Annie Wilkinson now lives in Hull where she divides her time between supporting her father and helping with grandchildren.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK (August 29, 2013)
  • Length: 448 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781471115387

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Annie Wilkinson