The Land Girls

As war rages, can love survive? A heart-warming family saga about the women of war

About The Book

A heart-wrenching and nostalgic family saga from acclaimed author Annie WilkinsonPerfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Margaret Dickinson

AS WAR RAGES, CAN LOVE SURVIVE?

Hull, 1943


17-year-old Muriel Dearlove has weathered the Blitz unscathed, but with her sweetheart Bill away fighting and her friends conscripted into the WRENs and WAAF, life has become tedious for Muriel. So when an old friend returns from the Land Army, rosy-cheeked and looking healthier than ever, Muriel decides to sign up and become a Land Girl.

Despite being desperate for the chance to broaden her horizons, Muriel quickly realises that her new job involves more than just making hay in the sunshine and dancing with the troops stationed nearby, especially under the watchful eyes of their hard-nosed warden, Mrs Hubbard. Then Muriel meets Ernst, a German prisoner of war, and is faced with a life-changing decision: in fraternizing with the enemy, Muriel is breaking the law, but to never see Ernst again would break her heart.

As tensions between the Land girls and the locals grow, so does Muriel's forbidden love for Ernst, and soon must decide whether love really can conquer all . . .

About The Author

The daughter of a Durham miner, Annie Wilkinson now lives in Hull where she divides her time between supporting her father and helping with grandchildren.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK (September 25, 2014)
  • Length: 448 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781471115417

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Annie Wilkinson