Almost Home

Poems

Foreword by Orion Carloto
LIST PRICE $10.99
PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

About The Book

From the Instagram poet and author of the exquisite Please Don’t Go Before I Get Better comes a gorgeous poetry and prose collection that explores the meaning of “home” and the profound discovery of finding it within oneself—perfect for fans of Rupi Kaur and Amanda Lovelace.

In this stunning third collection from Madisen Kuhn, Madisen eloquently analyzes some of life’s universal themes within the framework of a house. Whether it’s the garden, the bedroom, or the front porch, Madisen takes you into her own “home,” sharing some of the most intimate parts of her life so that you might also, someday, feel free to share some of yours.

Filled with beautiful hand-drawn illustrations from Melody Hansen, this boldly intimate, preternaturally wise, and emotionally candid collection encourages you to consider what home means to you—whether it’s in the lush, green-lawned suburbs or a city apartment—and, more importantly, explores how you can find it even when home feels like it’s on the far-off horizon.

About The Author

Madisen Kuhn is a writer living in Charlottesville, Virginia. She likes to explore topics of identity, belonging, sexuality, and mental illness in her work. In 2015, she self-published Eighteen Years, a collection of over 200 poems. She is currently pursuing a BFA in Studio and Digital Arts.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Gallery Books (October 1, 2019)
  • Length: 224 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781982121266

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

“In Almost Home, Madisen Kuhn is reminiscent of a young Mary Oliver: stunningly lyrical, brutally honest, and deliciously atmospheric.”

– Amanda Lovelace, bestselling author of the princess saves herself in this one

"Madisen's is a story of finding self-acceptance in the darkest of moments. Her work is refreshingly illustrative, surreal and still accessible, a wonderful mix of light and shade, honest, intimate, dramatic and ultimately moving.   

Home is a place that Madisen is constantly trying to get to but can never quite reach. And maybe, that's ok."
 

– Iain S. Thomas, author of international bestseller I Wrote This For You and Every Word You Cannot Say

"Almost Home dives into a life of seeking and yearning: for home, and the true meaning of it. Written with honesty — an act of bravery for those who are struggling to find the words for their longing and hurt."

– Dawn Lanuza, author of The Last Time I’ll Write About You

“In Almost Home, Madisen Kuhn’s poetry is like the warm glow of a porch light left on to welcome you home—both illuminating in its truth, and reassuring in its message.”

– Cyrus Parker, author of masquerade

"Almost Home is carved and curated with the utmost honesty, bravery, and resilience. Madisen invites you into her world with open arms, and does not shy away from the realities and messiness that are so tethered to growing up and young adulthood, but are often swept under the rug. This collection is and will truly be a home for so many."

– Alison Malee, author of This is the Journey

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Madisen Kuhn