Skip to Main Content

A Time for Friends

A Novel

From the #1 internationally bestselling author comes her next heartwarming and comforting Irish-set novel about the complexities of lifelong friendship, perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy and Cathy Kelly.

When are the boundaries of friendship pushed too far, and when is it time to stop flying over oceans for someone who wouldn’t jump over a puddle for you? There comes a time when Hilary Hammond has to make that call.

Hilary and Colette O’Mahony have been friends since childhood, but when irrepressible Jonathan Harpur breezes into Hilary’s life and goes into business with her, Colette is not pleased.

After their first encounter, Colette thinks he’s a “pushy upstart” while he thinks she’s “a snobby little diva.” And so the battle lines are drawn—and Hilary is square in the middle.

But as the years roll by and each of them is faced with difficult times and tough decisions, one thing is clear: to have a friend you must be a friend.

(c) Toni Tynan

Patricia Scanlan was born in Dublin, where she still lives. All of her books have been #1 international bestsellers, most recently With All My Love, A Time for Friends, and Orange Blossom Days. Patricia is the series editor and a contributing author to the Open Door series. Find out more by visiting Patricia’s Facebook page at Facebook.com/PatriciaScanlanAuthor.

“There’s something wonderfully enjoyable about Scanlan’s books, which somehow manage to be deliciously escapist and grounded in real, recognisable ordinary life at the same time.”

– The Irish Independent

"A comforting read appealing to fans of Maeve Binchy."

– Sunday Mirror

More books from this author: Patricia Scanlan