Skip to Main Content

A Killing Fire

Published by Flame Tree Press
Distributed by Simon & Schuster

“Full-bodied and dynamic characters carry this one along a mystery, tying a brutal past with a bloody present that will keep you guessing right up to the finale.” — Unnerving Magazine

As a child forced to witness her father’s crimes, homicide Detective Raven Burns dedicates every waking moment to proving that she is not her father’s child. But when she shoots a suspect who has what turns out to be an unloaded weapon, Raven finds that she must confront both the demons of her past and the stains on her soul in order to stop a killer.

FLAME TREE PRESS is the imprint of long-standing independent Flame Tree Publishing, dedicated to full-length original fiction in the horror and suspense, science fiction & fantasy, and crime / mystery / thriller categories. The list brings together fantastic new authors and the more established; the award winners, and exciting, original voices. Learn more about Flame Tree Press at www.flametreepress.com and connect on social media @FlameTreePress

Faye is the author of three novels and several short stories as well as a little poetry sprinkled here and there in various literary journals. She has a master’s in english literature and a deep curiosity in all things noir—especially stories populated with people from diverse ethnic backgrounds. She is currently working on her latest novel from her home in California.

“I genuinely hope that this is the first in a series featuring Raven and Byrd’s Landing, it is highly recommended for readers who enjoy James Lee Burke and Sara Paretsky.” - Rachel Read It

“The novel was gripping, intense, and suspenseful-everything I want in a crime fiction novel.” - Life of a Female Bibliophile

“Faye Snowden has created a pulse pounding and intense story that looks at both family relationships and how our lives are influenced by our pasts.” - The Nerdy Girl Express

“This book was the perfect heart pumping, page turning read that I needed.” - Never Without a Book

“This was one of the most hard-hitting unexpected reads. Authentic writing was what I would describe author Faye Snowden’s style. Believe me, the story pulled me in so insidiously that I was mighty surprised to see myself completely immersed in it.” - Shalini’s Books & Reviews

“If you like dark and atmospheric and a strong-willed but damaged protagonist, then someone should wrap up this book for you, sneak into your bedroom in the dead of night, and leave it for you to read. The Prologue alone sent chills up my spine, and that was just the beginning. This is a book that grabs you by the throat and doesn’t let go until you reach THE END…”

– Ann Parker, award-winning author of the Silver Rush historical mystery series

“Full-bodied and dynamic characters carry this one along a mystery, tying a brutal past with a bloody present that will keep you guessing right up to the finale.”

– Unnerving Magazine

“A solid contribution to a genre lacking in Black women authors [with] a strong sense of place, good character development, and a storyline that keeps you reading. Also, I will never get over this cover.”

– Black Girl Reading

“I enjoyed the ride and hope that we get to see more of Raven in future novels. I would recommend [A Killing Fire] to crime fiction and mystery lovers and fans of Ruth Ware and Gillian Flynn.”

– Black Girls Lit

“If you’re looking for a diverse, horror-tinged crime fiction, this would be a great choice.”

– Read by Dusk

“What a rush! A Killing Fire is a page turning psychological thriller that will keep you guessing to the end.”

– Never Without A Book

“Faye Snowden has created a pulse pounding and intense story that looks at both family relationships and how our lives are influenced by our pasts.”

– The Nerdy Girl Express

“Gripping, intense, and suspenseful -- [A Killing Fire] was everything I want in a crime fiction novel. What I enjoyed the most about this book is though it follows some classic mystery genre tropes, it stands out among many other mystery books I’ve read. Snowden lures her readers into a tangled web of lies, inviting them to solve the mystery. The characters were diverse and complex, which I appreciated.”

– Life of a Female Bibliophile

“This is a fast-paced crime procedural. The mystery is well crafted and I enjoyed getting to know Raven Burns and the town of Byrd’s Landing. I hope that this is the start of a series about Raven and Byrd’s Landing because there feels like there is more there to discover. I give it 4 stars and recommend it to any fan of mysteries, crime thrillers, and/or Louisiana.”

– Redmon Reads

“This was my first novel by Ms. Snowden, but most definitely not my last. I really loved how well developed this storyline was. The characters had so much depth.”

– Bibliophile on a Budget

“Mystery, crime, psychological drama and ghost story all wrapped in one delicious package that will keep you gripped and guessing right to the end. Highly recommended.”

– Catherine Cavendish, author of The Haunting of Henderson Close and The Garden of Bewitchment

“A Killing Fire is a slow burn (no pun intended) but slow as in melting molasses or as in a perfectly slow cooked chilli. Reading it I could almost taste the dry dusty air and feel the sticky plastic in the diner when little Raven and her daddy went in for dinner. Deliciously descriptive.”

– Read & Rated

“A Killing Fire is a page turner. Snowden takes a unique and darker twist with detective Raven Burns [...] I am very much looking forward to reading whatever Snowden delivers next.”

– Monlatable Reviews

“This was one of the most hard-hitting unexpected reads. Authentic writing was what I would describe author Faye Snowden’s style. Believe me, the story pulled me in so insidiously that I was mighty surprised to see myself completely immersed in it.”

– Shalini’s Books & Reviews

“I genuinely hope that this is the first in a series featuring Raven and Byrd’s Landing, it is highly recommended for readers who enjoy James Lee Burke and Sara Paretsky.”

– Rachel Read It