Skip to Main Content

“Faye Snowden has created a pulse pounding and intense story that looks at both family relationships and how our lives are influenced by our pasts.” - The Nerdy Girl Express

As a child forced to witness her father’s crimes, homicide Detective Raven Burns dedicates every waking moment to proving that she is not her father’s child. But when she shoots a suspect who has what turns out to be an unloaded weapon, Raven finds that she must confront both the demons of her past and the stains on her soul in order to stop a killer.





FLAME TREE PRESS is the new fiction imprint of Flame Tree Publishing. Launched in 2018 the list brings together brilliant new authors and the more established; the award winners, and exciting, original voices.

Faye is the author of three novels and several short stories as well as a little poetry sprinkled here and there in various literary journals. She has a master’s in english literature and a deep curiosity in all things noir—especially stories populated with people from diverse ethnic backgrounds. She is currently working on her latest novel from her home in California.

“I genuinely hope that this is the first in a series featuring Raven and Byrd’s Landing, it is highly recommended for readers who enjoy James Lee Burke and Sara Paretsky.” - Rachel Read It

“The novel was gripping, intense, and suspenseful-everything I want in a crime fiction novel.” - Life of a Female Bibliophile

“Faye Snowden has created a pulse pounding and intense story that looks at both family relationships and how our lives are influenced by our pasts.” - The Nerdy Girl Express

“This book was the perfect heart pumping, page turning read that I needed.” - Never Without a Book

“This was one of the most hard-hitting unexpected reads. Authentic writing was what I would describe author Faye Snowden’s style. Believe me, the story pulled me in so insidiously that I was mighty surprised to see myself completely immersed in it.” - Shalini’s Books & Reviews

More books in this series: Fiction Without Frontiers