Skip to Main Content

Paul Owen Lewis

Photograph courtesy of author

About The Author

Artist and author Paul Owen Lewis has been creating picture books since 1987 when Beyond Words published his first work, Davy's Dream, the beloved northwest children's classic still in print today. In 1996 his spectacular book, Storm Boy, received numerous awards including the prestigious American Book Award for Excellence in American Literature by the Before Columbus Foundation, and was chosen as the featured book for an episode of the PBS television series, Storytime, read by host Jane Seymour. Other best-selling titles include Grasper, Frog Girl, The Jupiter Stone, and P. Bear's New Year's Party.

A common theme of Paul's stories is the universal longing we all share to express our identity both as an individual and as a part of something larger. When he's not carving up a nearby mountain pass on his motorcycle or speaking at schools across the country (nearly a million students have enjoyed his inspirational visits thus far) Mr. Lewis lives on an island in Washington State where his immediate neighbors are ravens, killer whales, and a few awesome humans.

Books by Paul Owen Lewis